SCIE242 -A | Women's Health

For too long, studies lumped women's mental health with that of men, notwithstanding profound differences. This groundbreaking work decisively addresses that oversight as a team of expert scholars and therapists spotlights common female mental disorders, explores the causes, and explains available therapies. * Contributions from over 80 distinguished researchers and therapists * 40 original essays on all aspects of the subject * Bibliographic references at the end of each chapter * Name and subject indexes in each volume

Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Second Edition, tackles the subject of mental health, arguably one of the biggest issues facing modern society. The book presents a comprehensive overview of the many genetic, neurological, social, and psychological factors that affect mental health, also describing the impact of mental health on the individual and society, and illustrating the factors that aid positive mental health. The book contains 245 peer-reviewed articles written by more than 250 expert authors and provides essential material on assessment, theories of personality, specific disorders, therapies, forensic issues, ethics, and cross-cultural and sociological aspects. Both professionals and libraries will find this timely work indispensable. Provides fully up-to-date descriptions of the neurological, social, genetic, and psychological factors that affect the individual and society Contains more than 240 articles written by domain experts in the field Written in an accessible style using terms that an educated layperson can understand Of interest to public as well as research libraries with coverage of many important topics, including marital health, divorce, couples therapy, fathers, child custody, day care and day care providers, extended families, and family therapy

Special offer Buy the Handbook of Health Psychology at only $120/ 75 (reduced from $275/ 172 in August 2009). This comprehensive Handbook, the first in a decade, provides an intensive review, integration, and evaluation of the first quarter-century of health psychology research and intervention. Because of research advances in behavioral, psychological, and social aspects of health, health psychology has created a new way of thinking about health and well-being. Working within biobehavioral and sociocultural frameworks, the 51 chapters address basic theories underlying health-behavior relationships while, at the same time, applying those theories to specific disease conditions and the promotion of health. This book is intended for teachers of undergraduate, graduate or professional courses, students in psychology and other applied health fields, health researchers, and health practitioners. "

In her newest book, Simonds presents "Integrative Relational Therapy," her unique nonpathologizing approach to psychotherapy with depressed women. IRT integrates empirically-supported therapies, feminist theories of depression, creative arts therapies, and mindfulness-based techniques into a cohesive model that addresses the gender and cultural factors contributing to women's depression. The book also addresses relapse prevention, reproductive-related events, special medication issues for women, and the latest research on alternative remedies. A unique feature of the book includes three conceptual maps that guide the therapist throughout the course of therapy, weaving a common thread while allowing for the individuality of each client. A list of integrative resources and recommended readings in feminist therapy, alternative therapies, and holistic approaches to the treatment of depression, anxiety, and women's reproductive-related events are also included.

This ambitious resource describes innovative intervention programs for treating substance abuse and other mental health problems in the Middle East in the context of larger issues in the region. Deftly combining clinical acumen with in-depth knowledge of sociopolitical currents, contributors present data and analysis on similarities and differences within the region, addiction issues in special populations (youth, mothers, immigrants), and the efficacy of local and international initiatives. New trends in evidence-based responses, including mental health services in war and disaster, are related to the larger goals of promoting peace. To that end, the editors go beyond the concept of shared problems to discuss strategies toward shared solutions, most notably psychological first aid as a healing approach to mediation. Among the topics covered: Drug abuse in the Middle East: promoting mutual interests through resistance and resilience. Toward uniform data collection and monitoring of Israeli and Palestinian adolescent drug use. Substance abusing mothers: toward an understanding of parenting and risk behavior. Immigration, acculturation, and drug use. Psychological first aid: a tool for mitigating conflict in the Middle East. Collaborative approaches to addressing mental health and addiction. For health psychologists, psychiatrists, clinical social workers, and addiction counselors, Mental Health and Addiction Care in the Middle East demonstrates the deep potential for mental health and social issues to be addressed to benefit all communities involved.