Fitness and Nutrition - SCIE242 -A | Women's Health - LibGuides at American University in Dubai

Fitness & Nutrition

Women's Health Big Book of Exercises by Adam Campbell
Call Number: RA 781 .C36 2010
ISBN: 9781605295497
Publication Date: 2009-12-22
The Women's Health Big Book of Exercises is the essential workout guide for anyone who wants a better body. As the most comprehensive collection of exercises ever created, it's a body-shaping power tool for both beginners and long-time lifters alike. From start to finish, this makeover manual bulges with hundreds of useful tips, the latest findings in exercise science, and cutting-edge workouts from the world's top trainers. All to give you thousands of new ways to tone your abs, arms, and legs, and sculpt the body you've always wanted. Highlights include: -The World's Greatest 4-Week Diet and Exercise Plan-The Skinny Jeans Workout -The Bikini-Ready Workout Plus, tons of useful nutrition advice: -The 8 Healthiest Foods You Aren't Eating -7 Forbidden Foods You Can Eat Again -The 5 biggest nutrition lies - exposed! The Women's Health Big Book of Exercises will be the last fitness guide you'll ever need. And the body you shape with it will ensure a longer, healthier, happier lifetime. Can you afford not to own it?

Every woman's Guide to Nutrition by Judith E. Brown
This comprehensive, practical book, based on Judith Brown's considerable experience as a nutrition counselor, teacher, and researcher, is a resource women can turn to with confidence for information on nutrition and healthy eating. The author has talked extensively with women to identify the nutrition information they are looking for, and has tailored this book to meet their needs. Fertility, pregnancy, and breast-feeding are discussed, as are the prevention and treatment of obesity, heart disease, cancer, PMS, osteoporosis, and other health problems.
Nutrition and Fitness : Metabolic and Behavioral Aspects in Health and Disease
by K.N. Pavlou, , A.P. Simopoulos, , and B. Koletzko
PUBLISHER
Karger Publishers
DATE
1997-07-01
Nutrition for Sports and Exercise by Smolin, Lori A. & Grosvenor, Mary B. 2nd ed. New York : Facts on File, Inc. 2010
Subjects:
Exercise--Physiological aspects--Athletes--Nutrition--Popular works
Categories: HEALTH & FITNESS / Exercise
101 Fat-Burning Workouts & Diet Strategies For Women Muscle & Fitness. Hers Triumph Books 2008
The ideal resource for anyone looking to lose weight and look great, this health handbook features easy-to-follow cardio and weight training routines, recipes, and meal plans. Following on the heels of the ultra-successful Triumph titles, 101 Workouts and 101 Workouts for Women, is a new book in the "101" series that delivers even more breakthrough fitness advice for people of all ages. In 101 Fat-Burning Workouts & Diet Strategies For Women, the editors of Muscle & Fitness magazine provide expert workouts, high-energy cardio routines, body-sculpting meal plans, and tasty low-fat recipes.
The Women's Health Big Book of Exercises : Four Weeks to a Leaner, Sexier, Healthier YOU!
Revised edition includes 100 new exercises! The Women's Health Big Book of Exercises is the essential workout guide for anyone who wants a better body. As the most comprehensive collection of exercises ever written specifically for women, this book is a body-shaping power tool for both beginners and longtime fitness buffs alike. This book contains hundreds of useful tips, the latest findings in exercise science, and cutting-edge workouts from the world's top trainers. Backed by the authority of Women's Health magazine, this updated and revised edition features 100 new exercises in 20 workouts designed by BJ Gaddour, the Fitness Director of Men's Health magazine, and 1,350 photographs, showing movements for every muscle and training plan to match every fitness goal.
more...less...
[Cork, Ireland] : Rodale, 2016. 1 online resource (1,105 pages) Language: English, Database: AUD eBooks
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels, Jacqueline L. Longe, ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2017.
This guide provides a unique source of information on food, nutrition, food labels, and associated legislation, organizations, and diseases and conditions. Coverage includes various topics related to nutrition and food labels.

Nutrition and fitness | Center for Young Women's Health
The Center is an educational entity that is committed to providing teen girls and young women with carefully researched health information, educational programs, and conferences. The mission of the website is to help teen girls, their parents, educators, and health care providers improve their understanding of normal health and development, as well as of specific diseases and conditions. They seek to empower teen girls and young women around the world to take an active role in their own health care.

e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA)
The WHO e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) is an online library of evidence-informed guidance for nutrition interventions. It is a single point of reference for the latest nutrition guidelines, recommendations and related information including supporting materials such as scientific evidence, background materials and commentaries from invited experts.
Food & Nutrition Resource Portal Created by the United Nations
Nations Systems Standing Committee on Nutrition, this site provides access resources published by the committee, as well as partnering organizations
International Food Policy Research Institute
Focus areas include national agricultural and food policies, promotion of innovations in agricultural technology, ending hunger and poverty through research.
Nutrition and Obesity Policy Research and Evaluation Network (NOPREN)
NOPREN’s “mission is to conduct transdisciplinary nutrition- and obesity-related policy research and evaluation along a policy change continuum.”
Scientific Report of the 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee (Advisory Report)
"The Advisory Report helps to inform the federal government of the body of scientific evidence on topics related to diet, nutrition, and health. The Advisory Report is not the Dietary Guidelines policy or a draft of the policy."

Yoga for Women by Karin Björkegren
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781628730524
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Yoga is a powerful tool that can influence women’s well-being at all stages of life. Yoga for Women includes a presentation of the eight basic foundations of yoga, fol- lowed by breathing exercises to enhance your tranquility and concentration and fifty Hatha influenced exercises that improve strength and flexibility. Each of these fully illustrated postures is categorized by the various needs women have during their life. Perfect for the beginner or intermediate student, Yoga for Women empowers women of all ages to lead healthier and more balanced lives.
Yoga for Osteoporosis by Loren Fishman; Ellen Saltonstall
Call Number: RC 931 .O73 F57 2010
ISBN: 9780393334852
Publication Date: 2010-03-29
Osteoporosis leads to painful fractures due to loss of bone mass; yoga strengthens bones without endangering joints: it stands to reason that yoga is the perfect therapy for osteoporosis. Forty-four million Americans suffer from low bone mass, and osteoporosis is responsible for more than 1.5 million fractures annually. Drugs and surgeries can alleviate pain, but study after study has shown that exercise is the best treatment, specifically low-impact, bone-strengthening exercises--hence, yoga.In this comprehensive and thoroughly illustrated guide, Loren Fishman and Ellen Saltonstall, who between them have seven decades of clinical experience, help readers understand osteoporosis and give a spectrum of exercises for beginners and experts. Classical yoga poses, as well as physiologically sound adapted poses, are presented with easy-to-follow instructions and photographs. The authors welcome readers of all ages and levels of experience into the healing and strengthening practice of yoga.

Yoga for improving health-related quality of life, mental health and cancer-related symptoms in women diagnosed with breast cancer (Review)