SCIE242 -A | Women's Health

From the nation's leaders in women's health, The Healthy Woman: A Complete Guide for All Ages provides the information women need to take charge of their health. Readers will find: *easy-to-understand explanations * practical tips * first hand health stories from women around the country * charts showing which medical tests are needed and when * where to go to find more information As the gatekeepers of their family's health, women will also find resources to help care for men and children in their lives. Whether you are searching for ways to manage a health problem or prevent one -- for you or someone you love -- The Healthy Woman: A Complete Guide for All Ages has it all.

Contemporary Women’s Health emphasizes health promotion and the impact of multicultural and diversity issues on women’s health. The text is written from a woman-centered perspective and offers thorough discussions on a broad range of female-centric topics including feminism and the women's health movement, global issues in women's health, and health concerns specific to diverse populations. It is appropriate for both nontraditional and traditional students in a variety of course settings including health education, general education, medical education, and women’s studies courses that emphasize a holistic approach to health.

Women and Health is a comprehensive reference that addresses health issues affecting women of all ages - from adolescence through maturity. It goes far beyond other books on this topic, which concentrate only on reproductive health, and has a truly international perspective. It covers key issues ranging from osteoporosis to breast cancer and other cancers, domestic violence, sexually transmitted diseases, occupational hazards, eating disorders, heart disease and other chronic illnesses, substance abuse, and societal and behavioral influences on health. In this second edition of Women and Health, chapters thoughtfully explore the current state of women's health and health care, including the influences of sex and gender on the occurrence of a wide variety of diseases and conditions.

Fully updated to reflect the latest standards of care, this easy-to-use handbook brings together complete information on women's healthcare and health promotion. Using a systematic, problem-solving format, WOMEN'S HEALTH: A PRIMARY CARE CLINICAL GUIDE, 4/e thoroughly addresses key issues in all areas of primary care for women, including reproductive and gynecologic content as well as selected common medical, psychosocial, developmental, and political problems, issues, and needs. Every chapter has been updated, and this fourth edition includes an entirely new chapter on the assessment of older women's health. A separate chapter is now provided on Epidemiology and Diagnostic Methods and Procedures for Women's Health, and coverage of Complementary Therapies has been significantly expanded. Useful reference appendices cover topics ranging from billing and coding to relevant laboratory test values.

Now in paperback--the most comprehensive home health reference bestseller Millions of people around the world have relied on The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook for quick access to authoritative, accessible health information. Written by more than 300 internationally respected medical experts, this comprehensive medical resource features extensive, up-to-date coverage of health care for newborns, the elderly, and everyone in between. Contains reliable, up-to-date information on a broad range of medical conditions, illnesses, and situations, including accidents and injuries, aging, cancer, diabetes, digestive disorders, heart disease, mental health disorders, and many others Covers men's, women's, pediatric (both newborns and older children), and geriatric health issues Well organized and extensively indexed to make information easy to find An extraordinary bargain at a penny a page The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook is filled with essential medical information that's both easy to find and easy to understand in order to help you communicate more effectively with your doctor, understand a diagnosis or treatment option, or simply know more about your health and the health of those you care about.

The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive A to Z, inter-disciplinary, one-stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with some 1,200 articles in 2000 pages, the encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Pedagogical elements of the encyclopedia include an in-depth chronology detailing advances in health through history, a glossary of health definitions, extensive cross-references to related topics, and thorough bibliographic citations.