shelf-reading is a daily routine to correct the missshelved books by patrons.
every week a an assignment sheet placed on the circulation board will be placed , so students assistant will know which shelves are their responsibility ,
after the finish shelf-reading students must declare that the shelf- reading is done , so the supervisor will check after him.
its quite important to take your time while shelf-reading than to rush and make mistakes.
behind the circulation desk there are two books trolleys. one for the checked-in books that you can immidiatly start shelving it. the second one is usually books that patrons used it in the library and left it at the tables .
first you star with ordering the books on the cart, so the shelver will not run all over the library collections .
the main collection located at the back of the circulation desk , its arranged by subject (A-Z) ACCORDING TO THE lcc system.
Each row of shelves has a sign that states the general LCC range in that raw.
- the books that has a call number that starts with " REF" on the spine belong to the reference collection , located on the right side of the library , facing the study rooms.please always remember not to put and main collection book in the REF area ., likewise a book of main collection should go in the reference stacks.
- books that start with word " TOPIC" should go only to the TOPIC collection on the right side of the library before the reference collection, the call number is a LCC .
books that has IELP aon the spine of the books , should go to the right side of the library , opposite the TOPIC collection , its arranged by leve, 1-6 , each level is arranged numerically .
oversized books are usually the big books , that cant be fit in the main collection stacks , they are recognized by the word " OVERSIZE" in yellow label on the spine , its located on the right of the library right before the study rooms, it also LCC system .
DVD , MOVIES, and Documentaries are located in the area before the study rooms , its reconised by the DVD sing on the spine label (always remember that the showed cases on the stacks are empty , and the CD'S are placed on the drawers at the circulation desk , and arranged alphabetically .
fiction collection its located on the right side of the library , facing the circulation desk has a specific classification , the call number starts with " FIC" which means fiction , followed with the first four letters of the author. its also arranged alphabetically .
Arabic fiction is has the same classification system as English fiction , only the letter ARBIC , to distinct between the English collection, it located on the right side of the library facing the directors office .
Juvenile collection: