Library Students Assistant Training: Main Task

 

1. Administrative

1. 1.1 Contract

• At the start of each semester, it is important to sign your contract with the HR Department.

1.2 Attendance

• Be punctual. Always be on time for your shift.
• You are required to work 6 hours weekly with night and weekend shifts.
• Per semester, you are allowed up to three (3) absences and six (6) tardiness. If you exceed these limits, your contract will be terminated according to the employment terms.
• The Student Assistant's hourly rate is AED 28. Every 25^th of the month is the submission of your timesheet for payout. You will receive your salary every 30^th of each month.
• (Do not apply with the new student assistant)
• Inform the Access Services Librarian or Library Director if you need to change your work schedule or cannot come to work to minimize absences.

1.3 Timesheet

• Fill out the form completely.
• Always use military time when signing in/out (e.g. 1:00 pm = 13:00) and ask the duty librarian to sign.
• Do not use a pencil to write on the timesheet.

1..4 Evaluation and Recognition

 

 

 

 

Library Hours

 

Note: Please note that the library timings are subject to change every semester. For the updated schedule, kindly refer to the website.

1. 2.2 Loan Periods and Policies

Currently enrolled AUD students, AUD faculty, Staff and their families, and AUD alumni, can borrow materials and have access to the library’s online databases, on and off campus.

Note: ALWAYS ask for proper identification (University ID) when they are borrowing items from the library.

2.3 Collection

The Library houses circulating and non-circulating materials and provides access to electronic resources.

CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Books from the general collection, DVD’s, ESL readers, Topic books, back issues of journals, course reserve material, iPads and other electronic items.

NON-CIRCULATING COLLECTIONS

Reference books, current periodicals and newspapers.

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

• AUD library provides access to a range of online resources, including eBooks, reference, research and professional databases.
• All users are required to have an assigned login and password to access these resources.
• Access to our subscription databases off-campus, as per our license agreements, is available to currently enrolled students, staff and faculty.
• Certain online resources require additional applications for our subscription content to be viewed. Contact library staff if you require assistance with this.

RESERVE COLLECTION

• AUD faculty may place Library or personal material on reserve for the use of their students. Items will be kept at the Circulation desk, and issued to students according to the agreed loan periods.
• Library and personal items can be placed on reserve by completing and submitting a  Course Reserve Form online. The library will notify faculty when the item is available on reserve for circulation.
• Personal items should be handed over at the circulation desk after submitting the online request form. Personal items will be returned to faculty at the end of each semester or as specified.
• All items placed on reserve must abide by UAE and international copyright laws.

FACULTY TEXTBOOK COLLECTION

• As a general policy, AUD Library does not purchase textbooks for the collection. The ordering of textbooks is not managed by the Library, and students are required to purchase their own print or eBook copies through the campus bookshop.
• The library does purchase, on a demand basis, a copy of the approved textbook for teaching faculty, should they require it. Textbooks purchased by the Library remain the property of AUD library and should be returned at the end of the semester. Please complete and submit a Faculty Textbook Request Form to ensure that a copy of the approved title for a course is available for your teaching purposes.
• Faculty members may request that their copy or any extra copy of a textbook, be placed on reserve for their students.
• The Library may add textbooks to the collection if it is decided that the textbook supports long-term research or covers an emerging research area.  
• Please allow enough time for the purchase and processing of required faculty textbooks.

2.4 Loan Policies

• All materials must be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Borrowers may be asked to present the appropriate identification.
• Students, faculty, and staff are responsible for all items borrowed in their name.
• Registered students with course schedules may check out items during term breaks.

2.4.4 Overdue

• Please refer the user to the Library staff that has overdue items.

2.4.5 Damage or Lost Items

• Please refer the user to the Library staff that has damaged or lost items.

It is crucial to put books back in their proper sections, whether it is the Main or Reference area, to ensure the next user can locate them easily. Shelving and Shelf Reading are necessary duties for all student assistants.

• Shelving/Shelf Reading must be performed every day at the start of each shift.
• Always check if there are books to be shelved behind the circulation desk.
• Every week, a list of assigned shelves will be posted on the Circulation board with the name of each student assistant.
• Complete the Shelf Reading Sheet first for Library Staff to inspect later. It is important to maintain accuracy and consistency in the organization of library materials. By completing this task, you are contributing to the smooth operation of the library and promoting a positive experience for all users.

For student assistants to perform these two tasks, they must learn how the Librarians organize the books in the library. At AUD Library, we are using the Library of Congress Classification (LCC), a system invented by James Martel and J.C.M. Hanson in 1897 for the Library of Congress of the United States of America.

3.1 Library of Congress Classification Principles and Structure

The Library of Congress Classification (LCC) was invented by Herbert Putnam in 1897 specifically for the US Library of Congress.

• LCC uses a mix of alphanumeric notation of the Roman capital letters, Arabic numerals, and a dot (.) to construct a CALL NUMBER.
• A -- GENERAL WORKS - WP version - Word version
• B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION - WP version - Word version
• C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY - WP version - Word version
• D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. - WP version - Word version
• E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version - Word version
• F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version - Word version
• G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION - WP version - Word version
• H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES - WP version - Word version
• J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE - WP version - Word version
• K -- LAW - WP version - Word version
• L -- EDUCATION - WP version - Word version
• M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC - WP version - Word version
• N -- FINE ARTS - WP version - Word version
• P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE - WP version - Word version
• Q -- SCIENCE - WP version - Word version
• R -- MEDICINE - WP version - Word version
• S -- AGRICULTURE - WP version - Word version
• T -- TECHNOLOGY - WP version - Word version
• U -- MILITARY SCIENCE - WP version - Word version
• V -- NAVAL SCIENCE - WP version - Word version
• Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL) - WP version - Word version

A single letter denotes the main class and most subclasses are designated by double letters.

3.2 How to Read a Call Number?
 

3.3 SHELVING / SHELF READING

Arrange the call numbers by whole numbers, not per digit see examples below:

Sample 1: Arrange the 1^st row by alphabet.

 

H 42    .M623 2001

HA 416 .M518 2002

HB 438 M565 2003

 

 

 

 

 

Sample 2: Arrange the 2^nd row by the whole number

H  42     .M623 2001

HA 416 .M518 2002

HB 438 M565 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sample 3: Arrange the 3^rd row by the whole number

H  42    .M63 2001

HA 416 .M163 2002

HB 438 .M375 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sample 4: Arrange the 4^th row by year

H  42    .M63 2001

HA 416 .M163 2002

HB 438 .M375 2003