Middle Eastern Studies

A dictionary of Islam; being a cyclopaedia of the doctrines, rites, ceremonies, and customs, together with the technical and theological terms, of the Muhammadan religion. by Hughes, Thomas Patrick, 1838-1911. Publication date 1885

This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Islam contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on major sects, schools of theology, and jurisprudence, as well as aspects of Islamic culture. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Islam.

This encyclopaedic work represents an account of the Arab world from 1798 and a readable assessment of all its aspects.

This reference work provides a needed ready reference to the essential information on and analytical discussion of basic ideas, notions, concepts, doctrines, ideologies, leaders, intellectuals, thinkers, ideologues, groups, and movements of Islamic fundamentalism or Islamism in the Arab world, Iran and Turkey.

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries important events, key personalities, official positions of principal states and the UN and other efforts to find a peaceful settlement.. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this conflict.

This reference volume is the definitive guide to the economics and politics of the Middle East. It provides clear definitions detailing terms, concepts, names and organizations used in relation to current economic or political affairs in the Middle East. Entries define, explain and give further relevant information on countries, regions, ethnic groups, political parties, organizations, policies and disputes.

The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is a major multi-volume reference work. It is a unique collaboration of hundreds of scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic, dealing with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).

The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.

Also available through Encyclopedia of Islam online resource

This encyclopedic work on Islam comprises English translations of all canonical hadiths, complete with their respective chains of transmission.

"This two-volume set on Islam is a timely resource aimed at the general reader. More than 500 articles, 200-5,000 words in length, describe the Islamic world from its known beginnings to the present day. A 'Synoptic Outline of Entries' at the beginning of volume one presents a thematic overview of the encyclopedia that facilitates browsing. A glossary of terms and a pronunciation key appear at the end of volume two, followed by genealogies, timelines, and a detailed index."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.

The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilisation and Religion covers the full range of Islamic thought, in historical depth, but it also provides substantial coverage of contemporary trends across the Muslim world. With well over a thousand entries on Islamic theology, history, arts, science, law and institutions, and coverage of Islam in individual countries and cities around the world.

From the Foreword This Concordance of the Qur'an in English satisfies a paramount need of those--and there are millions of them--who have no command of the Arabic language and yet desire to understand the Qur'an. The benefit derivable from English translations of the Sacred Book is, in principle, limited because, first, the Qur'an is not a "book" but a collection of passages revealed to Muhammad over a period of about twenty-three years and, second, because the Qur'an is not really translatable. This does not mean that the Qur'an should not be translated. It does mean that translations lose much in tone and nuance, let alone the incommunicable beauty, grandeur, and grace of the original.

Essays by leading international scholars Primarily focused on the modern and contemporary periods. Covers religious, social, cultural, economic, political and military history Treats the region as four differentiated political units Iran, Turkey, Israel and the Arab world. Includes a section on current issues, such as oil, urban growth, the role of women, and democratic human rights

Articles on subjects including European Islam, Creationism and Evolution, Palestine, Radical Islam, the Christian Right. Traces the historical roots of the relations between politics and religion in the modern world and consider how these two elemental institutions of society have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially over the past two centuries.

This authoritative reference, the product of five years of work by an international team of experts, offers comprehensive, even-handed coverage of the history, issues, actors, events, institutions, and policies related to the ongoing Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Volume I of the thirty-eight volume translation of Tabari's great History begins with the creation of the world and ends with the time of Noah and the Flood. It not only brings a vast amount of speculation about the early history of mankind into sharp Muslim focus, but it also synchronizes ancient Iranian ideas about the prehistory of mankind with those inspired by the Qur'an and the Bible. The volume is thus an excellent guide to the cosmological views of many of Tabari's contemporaries. The translator, Franz Rosenthal, one of the world's foremost scholars of Arabic, has also written an extensive introduction to the volume that presents all the facts known about Tabari's personal and professional life. Professor Rosenthal's meticulous and original scholarship has yielded a valuable bibliography and chronology of Tabari's writings, both those preserved in manuscript and those alluded to by other authors. The introduction and first volume of the translation of the History form a ground-breaking contribution to Islamic historiography in English and will prove to be an invaluable source of information for those who are interested in Middle Eastern history but are unable to read the basic works in Arabic.

This history of the countries where Arabic is the main language of speech and culture, stretching from Morocco to Iraq, covers the period from the 7th to the 10th century, when the new religion of Islam carried the Arabic language with it and created an Arabic Muslim world. The story is carried up to the 1980s and the author shows how Arab history is intertwined with some of the great processes of world history.

500 entries, coverage ranges from the Iberian Peninsula and North Africa to the Middle East and South and Southeast Asia, and from the sixth through the seventeenth centuries, a span of time that includes what is generally described as the golden age of Islam, 750-1200 C.E.

The Almanac covers the roots of the conflict and traces developments to the present day.

Offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. The alphabetically arranged articles range from brief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetictreatment of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations. Related entries cover areas of general interest such as social and political movements, women, Muslim minorities, human rights, Islam in the West, and interreligious affairs.