LibGuides: Visual Communication: Articles and Databases

Print and E-journals

Databases
Print journals in the library

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis."
"Online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis."

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,872,031 theses and dissertations."

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines.
Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines. Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.

Adbusters
Based in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Adbusters is a not-for-profit, reader-supported magazine concerned with the erosion of our physical and cultural environments by commercial forces. Since 1989, the magazine has been featured in hundreds of alternative and mainstream newspapers, magazines, television and radio shows. Known worldwide for sparking Occupy Wall Street, Adbusters is also responsible for social media campaigns such as Buy Nothing Day and Digital Detox Week. Included in the magazine are incisive philosophical articles and activist commentary, coupled with impact design that seeks to unbound the traditional magazine format. Issues relevant to our contemporary moment, such as media concentration, climate change and genetically modified foods are regularly featured.
American Art Review
American Art Review chronicles the emergence and growth of American painting, drawing, printmaking, sculpture and decorative arts with intelligence, sensitivity, style, authority and historical insight.
Our sources are the museums, galleries, archives, universities, private collections, families and friends of the artists, wherever the most significant American art now resides.
Never in the history of American art publishing has there been a magazine which covers the field with American Art Review's breadth, depth and imagination. If you are a connoisseur - or would like to become one - American Art Review is for you.
Apenture
Aperture, a not-for-profit foundation, connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online.
Artforum
Artforum is an international monthly magazine specializing in contemporary art. The magazine is published ten times a year, September through May, along with an annual summer issue. Distinguished by its 10½ inch square format, with each cover devoted to the work of a single artist, the magazine is widely acknowledged as a decisive voice in its field. The magazine features in-depth articles and reviews of contemporary art, as well as book reviews, columns on cinema and popular culture, and numerous full-page advertisements from prominent galleries around the world.
Art in America
Each month Art in America, the world's premiere art magazine, provides in-depth coverage of the global, and often controversial, art scene. Every issue contains articles on both respected and rising talents, and reviews of current exhibitions around the world
Artists and Illustrators
Artists and Illustrators magazine is a monthly publication which will bring the readers a wide range of practical features on how to improve their creative techniques. The magazine will also provide inspirational interviews with the greatest artists in the world today. There are regular step by step instructions on how to complete certain complicated styles. The readers will be able to get on board with the best and the most essential techniques and methods to complete their work.
Art News
Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. Its readership of 180,000 in 124 countries includes collectors, dealers, historians, artists, museum directors, curators, connoisseurs, and enthusiasts. Published in print four times a year, it reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world. The magazine’s thousands of contributors have included Alfred Barr, Bernard Berenson, Kenneth Clark, Robert Coles, Arthur Danto, Carlos Fuentes, Pete Hamill, Aldous Huxley, Steve Martin, Louise Nevelson, Bob Nickas, Francine Prose, Harold Rosenberg, David Salle, Jean-Paul Sartre, and William Carlos Williams.
Contact sheet
Continuously published since 1977, Contact Sheet is one of the longest-running art photography publications in the world. All subscriptions to Contact Sheet include four single-artist monographs plus the award-winning Light Work Annual. Light Work is a non-profit, artist-run organization that provides direct support to artists working in the media of photography and digital imaging through residencies, publications, exhibitions, a community-access digital lab facility, and other related projects.
Creative Review
Creative Review is a monthly magazine targeted on the commercial arts and design scene. It has a circulation of around 20,000 readers.[citation needed] In general it focuses content on media originating in United Kingdom, Europe, and the United States, and showcases contemporary advertising, design, illustration, new media, photography, and typography.
Digital Studio
digitalstudio is the Middle East's leading magazine for the TV production, fi lm and broadcast industries. Today, the Middle East is one of the fastest growing broadcast markets in the world. The private sector has only just begun to invest in broadcast operations in the region, and already, it has more than 400 free-to-air channels. Along with this, initiatives like Dubai Studio City and Iraq's Erbil Media City; the preparations to migrate to HD and the launch of new TV stations by private owners are coming to mean more business for vendors, systems integrators, rental companies and other professionals in the production and post production sectors.
Eye magazine
Eye is the world’s most beautiful and collectable graphic design journal, published quarterly for professional designers, students and anyone interested in critical, informed writing about design and visual culture.
Flash Art
Flash Art is a bimonthly magazine focused on contemporary art. It was founded in Rome in 1967 by Italian publisher and art critic Giancarlo Politi. The magazine has been based in Milan, Italy since 1971. Originally a bilingual publication, it was split in two separate editions, Flash Art Italia (in Italian) and Flash Art International (in English) in 1978 when Helena Kontova joined the editorial team. It also publishes Flash Art Czech & Slovak Edition and Flash Art Hungary.
Idea
IDEA magazine is focuses on graphic design and typography, published quarterly in Tokyo, Japan.
Leonardo
Leonardo is the leading international peer-reviewed journal on the use of contemporary science and technology in the arts and music and, increasingly, the application and influence of the arts and humanities on science and technology.
Lurzer's int' I archive
Lürzer's Archive, the celebrated creative resource for advertising professionals worldwide, has been offering a full set of inspirational tools since 1984. Lürzer's Archive magazine; Lürzer's Archive 200 Best Specials; the Lürzer's Archive website, plus our wide range of apps.
Parkett
Parkett is an international magazine specializing in contemporary art. The magazine will cease publication in Summer 2017 with its 100th issue.
Print
Print is an iconic design and visual culture brand encompassing a venerated magazine, a website, premium book and e-book lines, and the Regional Design Annual, one of the most well-respected design competitions in the industry. Founded in 1940, Print seeks to build a dialogue about design by detailing the intersections of art and culture. Rather than focusing on the how-to of design, the experts who write for Print cover the why—why the world of design looks the way it does, how it has evolved, and why the way it looks matters.
VMSD
Since 1897, VMSD has provided retail professionals with the most up-to-date, innovative retail design ideas, visual presentations, new products, merchandising strategies, and industry news and events. Celebrating the art and science of retail design, VMSD draws on more than 100-plus years of history to serve the market, delivering information and inspiration straight from high-level executives who drive this industry.
Wallpaper
Wallpaper* is a Time Inc publication focusing on design and architecture, fashion, travel, art and lifestyle. The magazine was launched in London in 1996 by Canadian journalist Tyler Brûlé and Austrian journalist Alexander Geringer. Brûlé sold the magazine to Time Warner in 1997.