Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
Register for an account on the ArtStor website while on campus:
1. Click on Register in the upper right-hand corner.
2. Create your account using your AUD email address and a password that you use frequently.
3. Enter a term in the Search box and get started...
4. Remote Access will be reset after 120 days so you will need to refresh your registration on campus again.
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
The Art Institute's photography collection contains works of many of the medium's celebrated practitioners, including collection the Alfred Stieglitz Collection, the Julien Levy Collection, with more than 200 photographs by Edward Weston, and the work of Paul Strand, Eugéne Atget, and André Kertész.
Welcome to the Museum of the World-an interactive experience through time, continents and cultures, featuring some of the most fascinating objects in human history. The project is a partnership between the British Museum and the Google Cultural Institute. For the first time ever, discover objects from the British Museum's collection from prehistory to the present using the most advanced WebGL (Web graphics library ) technology available. Jump back in time to explore objects from across diverse cultures and listen to British Museum curators share their insights. Click to connect objects across time and space, and discover hidden links between then and now.
"The revolution established a space for ingenuity that has astounded us, the Syrians, before even making its mark on the rest of the world, and we wonder, where had all this talent in satire, art, and innovation been?
Since their discovery some 150 years ago cuneiform tablets have been discovered in both controlled and un-controlled excavations, and have been dispersed across the globe. Prior to the 1930's cuneiform tablets excavated in the Ancient Near East could be easily removed from the countries of origin as objects for study, collection, or sale, adding to the huge numbers of tablets in public and private collections in many countries. In an attempt to virtually reassemble the scattered textual heritage of the Ancient Near East, we list here the collections of cuneiform tablets know to us.
The Fitzwilliam Museum was described by the Standing Commission on Museums & Galleries in 1968 as "one of the greatest art collections of the nation and a monument of the first importance". It owes its foundation to Richard, VII Viscount Fitzwilliam of Merrion who, in 1816, bequeathed to the University of Cambridge his works of art and library, together with funds to house them, to further "the Increase of Learning and other great Objects of that Noble Foundation".
The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection. Funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund
With over 25,000 works, this is one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world and includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.
The National Pavilion United Arab Emirates (UAE) la Biennale Di Venezia manages the UAE’s participation in various offerings of la Biennale di Venezia, which is considered by many to be the most prominent of exhibitions for contemporary art, architecture and film. The National Pavilion was established to endorse the UAE’s contemporary practices on an international platform and provide a foundation to support the nation’s diverse and developing cultural scene. The UAE’s participation at la Biennale Di Venezia commenced in 2009 with a national pavilion at the 53rd International Art Exhibition, and has continued in subsequent editions since. Participation at the International Architecture Exhibition is marked with a debut pavilion in 2014.
The Oriental Institute Collections Search contains over 1,000,000 records for Research Archives library materials, Oriental Institute Museum objects, and Photographic Archives digital images.
This website has been created to mark headway on my masters' thesis project at Georgetown University. It is a work-in-progress. I first began collecting Palestine posters when I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Morocco in the mid-1970s. By 1980 I had acquired about 300 Palestine posters. A small grant awarded with the support of the late Dr. Edward Said allowed me to organize them into an educational slideshow to further the "third goal" of the Peace Corps: to promote a better understanding of other peoples on the part of Americans. Over the ensuing years, while running my design company, Liberation Graphics, the number of internationally published Palestine posters I acquired steadily grew. Today the Archives numbers some 5,000 Palestine posters from myriad sources making it what many library science specialists say is the largest such archives in the world.
Princeton University Library’s Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection was acquired in 2008 from a Lebanese collector, Abdelmassih Abou-Jaoudeh of al-Furat Publishing and is comprised of 1,748 posters and 768 lobby cards. Egyptian posters predominate with 1,474, reflecting the unchallenged prominence of Egypt in the production of Arabic feature films. Some 150 posters are for Lebanese films, 113 Syrian and 11 Iraqi. The purpose of the posters was to advertize coming attractions, and they represent films produced from 1935 to 2007. Most of the posters are on standard Arab single-sheet size paper. However, many are on non-standard sheets.
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.
Smarthistory is a leading resource for the study of art and cultural heritage. Our growing collection of videos and essays are designed to be engaging and conversational and cover art that ranges from the paleolithic to the present. Everything on Smarthistory is completely free and our content is offered with no advertising. We are a small non-profit organization based in New York, but we reach millions of learners around the world. Smarthistory has received support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Samuel H. Kress Foundation, The College Board, Khan Academy, The Google Cultural Institute, John and Ann Doerr, and individual donors.
ince its founding in early 2000, the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access Memorial Library Mallto rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources. Resources within the collections are free and publicly accessible online.
