Plastic and Chemical

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Plastics and Environmental Sustainability
Survey’s the issues typically raised in discussions of sustainability and plastics Discusses current issues not covered in detail previously such as ocean litter, migration of additives into food products and the recovery of plastics Covers post-consumer fate of plastics on land and in the oceans, highlighting the environmental impacts of disposal methods Details toxicity of plastics, particularly as it applies to human health Presents a clear analysis of the key plastic-related issues including numerous citations of the research base that supports and contradicts the popularly held notions
Plastics and Sustainability : Towards a Peaceful Coexistence between Bio-based and Fossil Fuel-based Plastics
Clearly lays out the issues related to plastics' effects on the environment, while also serving as a practical, non-academic guide for making sustainability decisions about plastics recycling and the newest bio-based plastics Company managers, product developers, policy makers, environmental researchers, and plastics industry engineers are under increasing pressure to find ways of minimizing the environmental footprint of plastic products.
Plastics Waste : Feestock Recycling, Chemical Recycling and Incineration
Protection of our environment is now a global priority and legislation is being introduced in regions such as the European Union to ensure that material usage is maximised. Much of the development work has been pioneered in Germany which introduced very strict recycling laws. This report examines the issue of converting plastics waste into energy and/or useful chemicals. Polymers are generally derived from fossil fuels which are being gradually depleted. Much plastic material is discarded as waste, such as packaging and end-of-life vehicle components. It is essential that we find means to preserve fossil fuels and to reuse materials in some form.

Library Catalog
Search here in the Library Catalog to find Books, DVDs, Audio Books, Journals, and anything in physical format on the shelves.
All Library of Congress Call Numbers begin with letters that represent various subject areas.
The main subject classes often are narrowed even further by the addition of a second letter, called a subdivision. For the full listing of the main classes and their subdivisions, see the Library of Congress site.