The latest addition to the Oxford Paperback Reference series, this A to Z is the most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 9,800 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.Illustrations complement entries where necessary and other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formulae, and symbols, as well as entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
The Civil Engineering Handbook by Wai-Fah Chen (Editor); Thomas F. Wolff (Contribution by); Ronald F. Wukasch (Contribution by); J. Y. Richard Liew (Editor); Thomas Burke (Contribution by); Patrick J. Fox (Contribution by); Donald D. Gray (Contribution by); Mark H. Houck (Contribution by); D. A. Lyn (Contribution by); Robert M. Sykes (Contribution by); Leo Weitzman (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF TA 151 .C57 2003
Publication Date: 2002-08-29
First published in 1995, the award-winning Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference. To retain its standing as a complete, authoritative resource, the editors have incorporated into this edition the many changes in techniques, tools, and materials that over the last seven years have found their way into civil engineering research and practice. The Civil Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is more comprehensive than ever. You'll find new, updated, and expanded coverage in every section. In fact, more than 1/3 of the handbook is new or substantially revised. In particular you'll find increased focus on computing reflecting the rapid advances in computer technology that has revolutionized many aspects of civil engineering. You'll use it as a survey of the field, you'll use it to explore a particular subject, but most of all you'll use The Civil Engineering Handbook to answer the problems, questions, and conundrums you encounter in practice.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers by Frederick S. Merritt; Jonathan T. Ricketts; M. Kent Loftin
Call Number: REF TA 151 .S8 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-09
A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers. The 5th Edition incorporates changes in design and construction practices, especially in design specifications for construction materials, buildings and bridges, safety and health concerns, and the most current codes changes including ACI, AISC, ASTM, NDS for wood structures, etc. The Handbook covers systems design, community and regional planning, the latest design methods for buildings, airports, highways, tunnels and bridges. It includes sections on construction equipment, construction management, materials, specifications, structural theory, geotechnical engineering, wood, concrete, steel design and construction.
Bridge Engineering Handbook by Wai-Fah Chen; Lian Duan
Call Number: REF TG 145 .B85 1999
Publication Date: 1999-11-04
An international team of experts has joined forces to produce the Bridge Engineering Handbook. They address all facets-the planning, design, inspection, construction, and maintenance of a variety of bridge structures-creating a must-have resource for every bridge engineer. This unique, comprehensive reference provides the means to review standard practices and keep abreast of new developments and state-of-the-art practices. Comprising 67 chapters in seven sections, the authors present: Fundamentals: Provides the basic concepts and theory of bridge engineering Superstructure Design: Discusses all types of bridges Substructure Design: Addresses columns, piers, abutments, and foundations Seismic Design: Presents the latest in seismic bridge design Construction and Maintenance: Focuses on the practical issues of bridge structures Special Topics: Offers new and important information and unique solutions Worldwide Practice: Summarizes bridge engineering practices around the world. Discover virtually all you need to know about any type of bridge: Reinforced, Segmental, and Prestressed Concrete Steel beam and plate girder Steel box girder Orthotropic deck Horizontally curved Truss Arch Suspension Cable-stayed Timber Movable Floating Railroad Special attention is given to rehabilitation, retrofit, and maintenance, and the Bridge Engineering Handbook offers over 1,600 tables, charts, and illustrations in ready-to-use format. An abundance of worked-out examples give readers step-by-step design procedures and the section on Worldwide Practice provides a broad and valuable perspective on the "big picture" of bridge engineering.
Earthquake Engineering for Structural Design by Wai-Fah Chen; Eric M. Lui
Call Number: TA 654.6 .E372 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
Many important advances in designing earthquake-resistant structures have occurred over the last several years. Civil engineers need an authoritative source of information that reflects the issues that are unique to the field. Comprising chapters selected from the second edition of the best-selling Handbook of Structural Engineering, Earthquake Engineering for Structural Design provides a tightly focused, concise, and valuable guide to the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of earthquake engineering. In chapters contributed by renowned experts from around the world, this book supplies the latest concepts, design methodologies, and analytical techniques for mitigating the effects of seismic damage to structures. It discusses the fundamentals of earthquake engineering, explaining the causes of earthquakes and faulting, measurement of earthquakes, and characterization of seismicity. Subsequent chapters discuss the various types of earthquake damage to structures including recent improvements in earthquake performance, seismic design of buildings and bridges considering various types of construction materials, and performance-based seismic design and evaluation of building structures. The book introduces probabilistic approaches to performance-based methodologies as well as an application example of performance-based design. Earthquake Engineering for Structural Design offers practical tools gathered together in a convenient reference for immediate implementation. It is an ideal resource for civil and structural engineers specializing in earthquake engineering.
Handbook of Structural Engineering by Wai-Fah Chen; Eric M. Lui
Call Number: REF TA 633 .H36 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-28
Continuing the tradition of the best-selling Handbook of Structural Engineering, this second edition is a comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field. The authors address a myriad of topics, covering both traditional and innovative approaches to analysis, design, and rehabilitation. The second edition has been expanded and reorganized to be more informative and cohesive. It also follows the developments that have emerged in the field since the previous edition, such as advanced analysis for structural design, performance-based design of earthquake-resistant structures, lifecycle evaluation and condition assessment of existing structures, the use of high-performance materials for construction, and design for safety. Additionally, the book includes numerous tables, charts, and equations, as well as extensive references, reading lists, and websites for further study or more in-depth information. Emphasizing practical applications and easy implementation, this text reflects the increasingly global nature of engineering, compiling the efforts of an international panel of experts from industry and academia. This is a necessity for anyone studying or practicing in the field of structural engineering. New to this edition Fundamental theories of structural dynamics Advanced analysis Wind and earthquake-resistant design Design of prestressed concrete, masonry, timber, and glass structures Properties, behavior, and use of high-performance steel, concrete, and fiber-reinforced polymers Semirigid frame structures Structural bracing Structural design for fire safety
Structural Steel Designer's Handbook by Roger L. Brockenbrough; Frederick S. Merritt
Call Number: TA 684 .S79 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
A Complete and Current Guide to Structural Steel Design Fully updated with the most recent design codes, standards, and specifications, Structural Steel Designer's Handbook, Fifth Edition, provides a convenient, single source of the latest information essential to the practical design of steel structures. This comprehensive volume begins by covering the properties of structural steel and the fundamentals of fabrication and erection. Modern structural design methods applicable to buildings and other structures, such as roof systems and various types of bridges, are presented. Details on the design of members--beams, columns, and tension components--and of bolted and welded connections are also covered. Featuring contributions from renowned engineering experts, this is an invaluable working tool for structural steel designers. Based on the latest design standards, codes, and specifications: ANSI/AISC 360-10--unified LRFD and ASD specification ANSI/AISI S100--unified specification for cold-formed members SEI/ASCE 7-10 wind, seismic, and live loads, consolidated into the International Code Council (ICC) International Building Code (IBC) AASHTO highway bridge design standards ASTM material standards AREMA railroad bridge design specifications Coverage Includes: Properties of structural steels and effects of steel-making and fabrication Fabrication and erection Connections Building codes, loads, and fire protection Criteria for building design Design of building members Floor and roof systems Lateral-force design Cold-formed steel design Highway bridge design criteria Railroad bridge design criteria Beam and girder bridges Truss bridges Arch bridges Cable-suspended bridges
Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook by Roy E. Hunt
Call Number: TA 705 .H86 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-12
The Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook provides the tools necessary for fusing geological characterization and investigation with critical analysis for obtaining engineering design criteria. The second edition updates this pioneering reference for the 21st century, including developments that have occurred in the twenty years since the first edition was published, such as: #65533; Remotely sensed satellite imagery #65533; Global positioning systems (GPS) #65533; Geophysical exploration #65533; Cone penetrometer testing #65533; Earthquake studies #65533; Digitizing of data recording and retrieval #65533; Field and laboratory testing and instrumentation #65533; Use of the Internet for data retrieval The Geotechnical Engineering Investigation Handbook, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to a complete investigation: study to predict geologic conditions; test-boring procedures; various geophysical methods and when each is appropriate; various methods to determine engineering properties of materials, both laboratory-based and in situ; and formulating design criteria based on the results of the analysis. The author relies on his 50+ years of professional experience, emphasizing identification and description of the elements of the geologic environment, the data required for analysis and design of the engineering works, and procuring the data. By using a practical approach to problem solving, this book helps engineers consider geological phenomena in terms of the degree of their hazard and the potential risk of their occurrence.
Knovel is an online library of 3000+ technical books including large encyclopedia sets in technical areas ranging from energy, sustainability, environmental sciences and chemical engineering to nano science.
Browse by discipline: Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Society of Engineers - UAE collaborates with Ministry of Public Works and General Secretariat of Municipalities in preparing the rules and regulations for practicing the engineering profession in the UAE.