Civil Engineering

The kimono-clad android robot that recently made its debut as the new greeter at the entrance of Tokyo's Mitsukoshi department store is just one example of the rapid advancements being made in the field of robotics. Cognitive robotics is an approach to creating artificial intelligence in robots by enabling them to learn from and respond to real-world situations, as opposed to pre-programming the robot with specific responses to every conceivable stimulus. Presenting the contributions of international experts from various disciplines within the field, Cognitive Robotics provides novel material and discusses advanced approaches in the field of intelligent robotics. It explains the various aspects of the topic to provide readers with a solid foundation on the subject. This edited collection presents theoretical research in cognitive robotics. It takes a multidisciplinary approach that considers the artificial intelligence, physical, chemical, philosophical, psychological, social, cultural, and ethical aspects of this rapidly emerging field. The editor is a prominent researcher whose Lovotics research into emotional bonds with robots is widely recognized. Supplying an accessible introduction to cognitive robotics, the book considers computational intelligence for cognitive robotics based on informationally structured space. It examines how people respond to robots and what makes robots psychologically appealing to humans. The book contextualizes concepts in the history of studies on intelligence theories and includes case studies of different types of robots in action. Although ideal for robotics researchers and professionals, this book is also suitable for use as a supporting textbook in advanced robotics courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Social robotics is a cutting edge research area gathering researchers and stakeholders from various disciplines and organizations. The transformational potential that these machines, in the form of, for example, caregiving, entertainment or partner robots, pose to our societies and to us as individuals seems to be limited by our technical limitations and phantasy alone. This collection contributes to the field of social robotics by exploring its boundaries from a philosophically informed standpoint. It constructively outlines central potentials and challenges and thereby also provides a stable fundament for further research of empirical, qualitative or methodological nature.

Writing Built Environment Dissertations and Projects will help you to write a good dissertation or project by giving you a good understanding of what should be included, and showing you how to use data collection and analysis tools in the course of your research. Addresses prominent weaknesses in under-graduate dissertations including weak data collection; superficial analysis and poor reliability and validity Includes many more in-depth examples making it easy to understand and assimilate the concepts presented Issues around study skills and ethics are embedded throughout the book and the many examples encourage you to consider the concepts of reliability and validity Second edition includes a new chapter on laboratory based research projects Supporting website with sample statistical calculations and additional examples from a wider range of built environment subjects 

A primary objective in a first course in mechanics is to help develop a student's ability first to analyze problems in a simple and logical manner, and then to apply basic principles to their solutions. A strong conceptual understanding of these basic mechanics principles is essential for successfully solving mechanics problems. This edition of Vector Mechanics for Engineers will help instructors achieve these goals. Continuing in the spirit of its successful previous editions, this edition provides conceptually accurate and thorough coverage together with a significant refreshment of the exercise sets and online delivery of homework problems to your students. This edition has undergone a complete rewrite to modernize and streamline the language through the text. Over 650 of the homework problems in the text are new or revised. One of the characteristics of the approach used in this book is that mechanics of particles is clearly separated from the mechanics of rigid bodies. This approach makes it possible to consider simple practical applications at an early stage and to postpone the introduction of the more difficult concepts. McGraw-Hill Education's Connect, is also available as an optional, add on item. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, how they need it, so that class time is more effective. Connect allows the professor to assign homework, quizzes, and tests easily and automatically grades and records the scores of the student's work. Problems are randomized to prevent sharing of answers an may also have a "multi-step solution" which helps move the students' learning along if they experience difficulty.

"A fascinating hybrid. Part freewheeling history of the rise of the modern autonomous vehicle, part intimate memoir from an insider who was on the front lines for much of that history, Autonomy will more than bring readers up to speed on one of today's most closely watched technologies," Brian Merchant, author of The One Device