A Speaker's Treasury of Quotations by
Every public speaker can benefit from an apt quotation to illuminate a speaking point. This compilation of 2,116 quotations in 263 broad subject categories is useful for political, motivational, and other public speakers along with speech writers, planners, and researchers. The topics range from Ability ("Out of my lean and low ability I'll lend you something"--Shakespeare) to Youth ("I suppose it's difficult for the young to realize that one may be old without being a fool"--William Somerset Maugham). Each entry is credited to its author, the work in which it appeared (when appropriate), and the date of origin. There are two indexes: of authors (to topics and their entry numbers) and of highly detailed keywords-in-context (to their entries).
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by
A major new edition of the most authoritative dictionary of quotations available brings you the wit and wisdom of past and present - from the ancients of East and West to the global village of the 21st century. Find that half-remembered line in a browser's paradise of over 20,000 quotationsfor all occasions, comprehensively indexed for ready reference. Whether you lean towards the words of Jane Austen: 'Think only of the past as its remembrance gives you pleasure', or the advice of Paris Hilton: 'Dress cute wherever you go. Life is too short to blend in', the Oxford Dictionary ofQuotations provides the ultimate answer to the questions 'Who said that? (and when, and why)'. Drawing on Oxford's unrivalled dictionary research programme and unique language monitoring, almost 1,000 new quotations have been added to this seventh edition from over 500 authors, from Mary Wollstonecraft and Sarah Palin to Herman Hesse and William Hazlitt. These include classic quotations fromestablished names for which new evidence of current usage has been found, such as 'The worth of a soul cannot be told' (the African writer and former slave Olaudah Equiano) and 'Work first - love next' (American writer and feminist Charlotte Perkins Gilman), as well as earlier quotations used bywell-known literary authors from around the English-speaking world, e.g. the maxim of Confucius for a ruler, 'If you desire what is good, the people will be good' (quoted by Thoreau), and the view of the Phrygian Stoic philosopher Epictetus that 'Not things, but opinions about things, trouble men'(cited by Laurence Sterne).'When a thing has been said and well said, have no scruple: take it and copy it' - Anatole France
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations by
More than 150 years after its original publication, BARTLETT'S FAMILIAR QUOTATIONS has been completely revised and updated for its eighteenth edition. BARTLETT'S showcases a sweeping survey of world history, from the times of ancient Egyptians to present day. New authors include Warren Buffett, the Dalai Lama, Bill Gates, David Foster Wallace, Emily Post, Steve Jobs, Jimi Hendrix, Paul Krugman, Hunter S. Thompson, Jon Stewart, Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, Barack Obama, Che Guevara, Randy Pausch, Desmond Tutu, Julia Child, Fran Leibowitz, Harper Lee, Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Patti Smith, William F. Buckley, and Robert F. Kennedy. In the classic BARTLETT'S tradition, the book offers readers and scholars alike a vast, stunning representation of those words that have influenced and molded our language and culture.
Black Cab Wisdom by
A truly collaborative project, a collection of the distilled wisdom of hundreds of taxi cab passengers "An inch in the right direction is better than a mile in the wrong direction." "If you think your life is bland, then you haven't added enough flavor." "People who live in glass houses should never undress." In September 2009, London cabbie Mark Solomon began asking passengers in the back of his taxi for a random quote or proverb. It started spontaneously, to give him more purpose and direction, but he found that sharing these daily inspirations with others made them feel part of something special too. The project developed into a popular website, and now this pocket-sized book offers the best 400 thoughts for the day, including hundreds not on the website, ranging from the truly philosophical to the downright bizarre.
Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by
This updated edition is the perfect gift for every occasion. From Shakespeare and Mark Twain to Albert Einstein and Kate Moss, this dictionary features 4,000 of the best and most popular quotations of past and present. Packed with quotable quotes on over 300 themes from Parties to Punctuality,this is the ideal tool for finding exactly the right words to express yourself in any situation. 'There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island' said Walt Disney, and in this book a crowd of voices offer ideas: 'Education is the most powerful weapon which you canuse to change the world', 'Life is either a daring adventure or it is nothing', 'The fool wonders, the wise man asks', 'Comedy is tragedy plus time', 'Friends are the sunshine of life'.
