LibGuides: Public Speaking: Find a Topic

Brainstorming

Bubbl.us
A straightforward brainstorming tool. Requires you to create an account before being able to save. The free account will allow you to store 3 mind maps at a time.

BRAINSTORM!

Before you start writing, take some time to think about what you want to write about. What topic is interesting to you? Then do some research to learn more about the issue BEFORE you take a stance.

KEYWORDS

The words you use to search for information on your topic are important! Databases look for the exact words that you put in, so you need to think about what words are used to describe your topic, including synonyms and related terms.

Ideas for Hot Topics

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Pew Research Center
Contains surveys and reports produced by Pew Research from 1987 to the present.
Gallup
"Combining more than 75 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of the world's constituents, employees, and customers than any other organization."

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
"An interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works."
You can also find Company Information here by expanding the box on the bottom right of the page "Get Company Info" and search for the company by name.
"An interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works."You can also find Company Information here by expanding the box on the bottom right of the page "Get Company Info" and search for the company by name.

Google Trends: Hot Searches
Shows the latest hot searching terms from Google.

New York Times, The (First-time users, click on “Create an Account” tab to create a free account.) This link opens in a new window
“A morning daily newspaper published in New York City has long been considered one of the world's most trusted news sources and one of the world’s great newspapers. Its strength is in its editorial excellence.”
Users must create a personal account to access this resource. To create an account: 1. go to NYTimes.com/DigitalPass (from on-campus) or nytimes.com/passes (from off-campus), 2. create a free account using your AUD email address 3. Access NYTimes.com or the NYTimes app from anywhere. Users will need to renew their passes annually by following these steps.
A morning daily newspaper published in New York City has long been considered one of the world's most trusted news sources and one of the worlds great newspapers. Its strength is in its editorial excellence.Users must create a personal account to access this resource. To create an account: 1. go to NYTimes.com/DigitalPass (from on-campus) or nytimes.com/passes (from off-campus), 2. create a free account using your AUD email address 3. Access NYTimes.com or the NYTimes app from anywhere. Users will need to renew their passes annually by following these steps.
Passes expire after 364 days to go grab another pass.
Please visit nytimes.com/grouppass while connected to AUD network
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines.
Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines. Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.