LibGuides: SCIE241 : Principles of Human Nutrition: Food, Growth and Health

Food, Growth and Health

You Are WHY You Eat : Change Your Food Attitude, Change Your Life
CALL NO: Online
You Are WHY You Eat teaches readers to take back control in their lives. Dr. Ramani takes an iconoclastic, brave, edgy, and witty approach to self-help. She teaches you to unearth that inner voice, and let it be heard. She turns all of your childhood teachings upside down and forces you to take responsibility for your choices in life. Through real-life anecdotes and exercises, she gives you the tools you need to live on your terms, not those of the stakeholders that surround you. It will help you trust yourself and act from the gut, while making that gut smaller at the same time. And in so doing, it will help people live lives that are braver, more authentic, and less riddled with regret.
Health, Nutrition and Food Demand
CALL NO: Online
The results of several comparative studies on the impacts of health information on food consumption and behaviour amongst various socio-economic groups, are presented in this book. It also provides economic analysis of food demand estimations and predictions about future food systems.
Eating Right in America : The Cultural Politics of Food and Health
CALL NO: Online
Eating Right in America is a powerful critique of dietary reform in the United States from the late nineteenth-century emergence of nutritional science through the contemporary alternative food movement and campaign against obesity. Charlotte Biltekoff analyzes the discourses of dietary reform, including the writings of reformers, as well as the materials they created to bring their messages to the public. She shows that while the primary aim may be to improve health, the process of teaching people to "eat right" in the U.S. inevitably involves shaping certain kinds of subjects and citizens, and shoring up the identity and social boundaries of the ever-threatened American middle class.
Safe Food : The Politics of Food Safety
CALL NO: Online
Food safety is a matter of intense public concern, and for good reason. Millions of annual cases of food "poisonings" raise alarm not only about the food served in restaurants and fast-food outlets but also about foods bought in supermarkets. The introduction of genetically modified foods--immediately dubbed "Frankenfoods"--only adds to the general sense of unease. Finally, the events of September 11, 2001, heightened fears by exposing the vulnerability of food and water supplies to attacks by bioterrorists. How concerned should we be about such problems? Who is responsible for preventing them? Who benefits from ignoring them?

Gale References eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library orremotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library orremotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Educators Reference Complete contains 12,319,902 articles.
Education Research Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Educators Reference Complete contains 12,319,902 articles.

Food, Nutrition & Health Information

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Food and nutrition information from the world’s largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.

MyPlate offers personalized eating plans and interactive tools to help you plan and assess your food choices based on the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

National Dairy Council: The leader in dairy nutrition research, education and communication.

USDA Food & Nutrition Service: Ensures access to nutritious, healthful diets for all Americans through food assistance and nutrition education for consumers.

Food Safety

U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition.

Gateway to US Government Food Safety Information: Provides links to selected government food safety-related information.

General Health Information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Your Online Source for Credible Health Information.

MedlinePlus: Health information from the National Library of Medicine.

National Institutes of Health: Health information from the Nation’s Medical Research Agency.

Office of Dietary Supplements: Provides information on the use and safety of dietary supplements.