SCIE241 : Principles of Human Nutrition

CALL NO: Online
It is well understood that proper nutrition has a significant impact on sports performance. All of the essential nutrients must be supplied in the right amounts and at the right times for an athlete to achieve optimal health and performance. In addition, when devising eating strategies that will help athletes meet their goals, sports nutritionists must take account of personal preferences, social and cultural issues, and a whole range of other factors. This latest volume in the Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine series, published by Wiley in partnership with the Medical Commission of the International Olympic Committee.

CALL NO: Online
Obesity levels have been increasing along with a reduction in exercise levels. The associated health problems of coronary heart disease, certain types of cancers, strokes, joint problems, type 2 diabetes, and social and emotional problems are all linked with obesity. One of the major factors in preventing this obesity is exercise. The articles in this e-book cover a variety of issues related to health, nutrition, and exercise. Topics covered include cancer and exercise, infertility, and body composition, nutrition, and dietary assessment for athletes.

CALL NO: Online
Nutrition and Enhanced Sports Performance: Muscle Building, Endurance, and Strength provides a comprehensive overview to understanding the integrated impact of nutrition on performance. The book is divided into five main themes: An introductory overview of the role of nutrition in human health Various types of physical exercises, including cardiovascular training, resistance training, aerobic and anaerobic exercise, bioenergetics, and energy balance. This section also covers the nutritional requirements associated with various fitness programs, as well as exercise and nutritional requirements in special populations, including the pre-pubertal, young, elderly, and disabled. Sports and nutritional requirements.

CALL NO: Online
Food and drink choices before, during and after training and competition have a direct impact on health, body mass and composition, nutrient availability and recovery time, and an optimal diet can significantly improve exercise performance. Nutrition for Sport and Exercise outlines the fundamental principles of nutrition in relation to sport and exercise and then applies these principles through practical tools such as food and nutrient lists, recipes and menu options. This practical guide translates the athlete's goals into achievable strategies and shortens the gap between theory and practice.

CALL NO: Online
The prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition.

CALL NO: Online
Sports Nutrition, which focuses on the importance of proper nutritional preparation for athletes, provides a practical supplement to Nutrition in Sport. It provides an essential reference on all aspects of sports nutrition for the team coach, athletic trainer, physical therapist and allied health-related professional working with athletes and sports teams, and the knowledgeable athlete.

CALL NO: Online
EDITOR: Cvercko, Gregor
PUBLISHER: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
PUB DATE: 2013-01-01

CALL NO: Online
Sets out the scientific rationale for the development of national nutrition and feeding recommendations for infants and young children in Europe. Although major emphasis is placed on recommended intakes for specific nutrients, the book also offers advice on a range of additional factors that contribute to good feeding practices and need to be addressed in national policies. Particular attention is given to conditions in countries of the former Soviet Union, where recommendations on infant nutrition and feeding practices are outdated and urgently require revision.

CALL NO: Online
WHO and UNICEF jointly developed this global strategy to focus world attention on the impact that feeding practices have on the nutritional status, growth and development, health, and thus the very survival of infants and young children. The strategy is the result of a comprehensive two-year participatory process. It is based on the evidence of nutrition’s significance in the early months and years of life, and of the crucial role that appropriate feeding practices play in achieving optimal health outcomes.

CALL NO: Online
How nice it would be to find a book about children’s nutrition that was written for parents by a parent. Such a book would be straightforward, easy to understand,and would not be full of obscure facts and statistics. Written by a father and nutritionist with over five years experience giving lectures on nutrition and health promotion to parents and children of all ages, this is such a book.

CALL NO: Online
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a workshop to examine trends and patterns in aging and factors related to healthy aging in the United States, with a focus on nutrition, and how nutrition can sustain and promote healthy aging, not just in late adulthood, but beginning in pregnancy and early childhood and extending throughout the lifespan. Participants discussed the role of nutrition in the aging process at various stages in life, changes in organ systems over the lifespan and changes that occur with age related to cognitive, brain, and mental health, and explored opportunities to move forward in promoting healthy aging in the United States.

CALL NO: Online
AUTHOR: Institute of Medicine Staff and Food and Nutrition Board Staff
PUBLISHER: National Academies Press
PUB DATE: 2000-05-09

CALL NO: Online
This book presents a range of information, much of it contributed by organisations which advocate vegetarianism. What benefits does a vegetarian diet have over one which includes meat? How are the nutritional needs of vegetarians met, particularly among children and young people? What are the facts and myths surrounding vegetarian and vegan diets? Also includes: Worksheets and activities ; Fast facts ; Glossary ; Web links ; Index. Sources of information:

CALL NO: Online
AUTHOR: Donna Maurer
PUBLISHER: Temple University Press
PUB DATE: 2014-05-14

CALL NO: Online
AUTHOR: Lierre Keith
PUBLISHER: PM Press
PUB DATE: 2009-05-01

CALL NO: Online
This book presents contributions from a wide variety of perspectives; nutrition professionals and lay people, academics and activists, adults and youth, indigenous, Chicana/o, Latina/o, Environmentalist, Feminist and more. The critical commentary collectively asks for a different, more attentive, and more holistic practice of nutrition. Most importantly, this volume demonstrates how this'new'nutrition is actually already being performed in small ways across the American continent.

CALL NO: Online
This comprehensive, practical book, based on Judith Brown's considerable experience as a nutrition counselor, teacher, and researcher, is a resource women can turn to with confidence for information on nutrition and healthy eating. The author has talked extensively with women to identify the nutrition information they are looking for, and has tailored this book to meet their needs. Fertility, pregnancy, and breast-feeding are discussed, as are the prevention and treatment of obesity, heart disease, cancer, PMS, osteoporosis, and other health problems.

CALL NO: Online
Nutrition During Lactation points out specific directions for needed research in understanding the relationship between the nutrition of healthy mothers and the outcomes of lactation. Of widest interest are the committee's clear-cut recommendations for mothers and health care providers. The volume presents data on who among U.S. mothers is breastfeeding, a critical evaluation of methods for assessing the nutritional status of lactating women, and an analysis of how to relate the mother's nutrition to the volume and composition of the milk.

CALL NO: Online
This exciting new book covers information about nutrition before, during and after pregnancy in a clear and user friendly style. The author addresses all the major aspects of the subject, moving from fertility and preparing the body for pregnancy, through to nutrient metabolism, diet and pregnancy outcome, weight gain, special needs, and postpartum changes and nutrition. This guide's evidence based approach will appeal to nutritionists and dietitians, and to many other health professionals who work with women in their childbearing years, including midwives, nurses and family practitioners. Each chapter includes a useful set of appendices covering dietary requirements, nutritional composition of key foods and weight gain guidelines.