Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Art of the Start 2.0 by Fully revised and expanded for the first time in a decade, this is Guy Kawasaki's classic, bestselling guide to launching and making your new product, service, or idea a success. Whether you're an aspiring entrepreneur, small-business owner, intrapreneur, or not-for-profit leader, there's no shortage of advice on topics such as innovating, recruiting, fund raising, and branding. In fact, there are so many books, articles, websites, blogs, webinars, and conferences that many startups get paralyzed, or they focus on the wrong priorities and go broke before they succeed. The Art of the Start 2.0 solves that problem by distilling Guy Kawasaki's decades of experience as one of the most hardworking and irreverent strategists in the business world. Guy has totally overhauled this iconic, essential guide for anyone starting anything. It's 64 percent longer than version 1.0 and features his latest insights and practical advice about social media, crowdfunding, cloud computing, and many other topics. Guy understands the seismic changes in business over the last decade: Once-invulnerable market leaders are struggling. Many of the basics of getting established have become easier, cheaper, and more democratic. Business plans are no longer necessary. Social media has replaced PR and advertising as the key method of promotion. Crowdfunding is now a viable alternative to investors. The cloud makes basic infrastructure affordable for almost any new venture. The Art of the Start 2.0 will show you how to effectively deploy all these new tools. And it will help you master the fundamental challenges that have not changed: building a strong team, creating an awesome product or service, and facing down your competition. As Guy likes to say, "Entrepreneur is a state of mind, not a job title." His book will help you make your crazy ideas stick, through an adventure that's more art than science - the art of the start.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Business Model Generation by Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
Call Number: HD 30.28 .O77 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
21st Century Communication by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by
Call Number: Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
"The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Articles begin with easily understandable concepts and become increasingly sophisticated, satisfying the needs of all readers."
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by
Call Number: REFJF799.H382014
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference. It reflects the changing landscape of politics where old modes and methods of political communication from elites to the masses (top down) and from the masses to elites (bottom up) are being displaced rapidly by social media, and where activists are building new movements and protests using social media to alter mainstream political agendas.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
"A comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research" Publisher
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by
Call Number: REF P 87.5.I585 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies by
Call Number: REF PN 4731 .K49 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
The SAGE Key Concepts series provide students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding. Written by experienced and respected academics, the books are indispensable study aids and guides to comprehension. Key Concepts in Journalism offers a systematic and accessible introduction to the terms, processes, and effects of journalism;a combination of practical considerations with theoretical issues; and further reading suggestions. The authors bring an enormous range of experience in newspaper and broadcast journalism, at national and regional level, as well as their teaching expertise. This book will be essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.
Encyclopedia of War Journalism, Third Edition by
Call Number: REF PN 4784.W37 R68 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Up-to-date through 2015, this edition examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East and everything in between.
Biographical information on historical and contemporary important men and women
Use indexes and abstracts to identify articles in journals by keyword. Some of these databases will include the link to the full text of articles, others may provide citations and brief descriptions. If you do not find the full text of the article you need, perform a title search for the name of the journal to find out if AUD Library has access to the issue you need.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
"PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature from the 1800s to the present "
ERIC Plus Text
"ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC is the largest education database in the world"
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and includes journals, books and conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus includes smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Creative Strategy Generation: Using Passion and Creativity to Compose Business Strategies That Inspire Action and Growth by A unique, inspiring guide to building business strategy from the president of Sequent Learning Network A key element of a successful business strategy is originality, which can only be fueled by creativity and intuition. Many business leaders are taught to develop strategies by analyzing case study after case study of other companies' already implemented strategies, and using those studies as a framework for developing their own strategic plans. However, in order to develop truly great strategies, business leaders must learn to tap into their own creative process and develop actionable strategies based on their intuition and instincts. Creative Strategy Generation is a step-by-step guide to creating truly original and successful business strategies by tapping into one's own creative potential. Modeled on Sequent Learning Network's popular strategy building consultation program, the book uses compelling stories and examples drawn from music composition to show you how to produce your own "strategic masterpieces."
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
One Perfect Pitch: How to Sell Your Idea, Your Product, Your Business--or Yourself by What’s YOUR story?
In the hypercompetitive world of Silicon Valley, this question has replaced “What’s your pitch?” It’s another way of asking, “Who are you?”
The art of the pitch is nothing short of a survival skill. If an entrepreneur can’t convince an investor in 10 minutes that a business idea has potential, that is often the end of it. If a project manager in a large enterprise can’t win support from other stakeholders, his or her project is at risk. You always need to be selling yourself, pitching your partners or your clients to work with you, or pitching what makes your new business an exciting and worthwhile investment.
You may not realize it right now, but you do have a one-of-a-kind story to tell, one that makes you stand out from everyone else—a unique tale that makes you, your product, or your business unforgettable. In One Perfect Pitch, Marie Perruchet will help you discover it, hone it, and present it, so that you get buy-in from colleagues and potential investors. Learn:
• How to mine the worst experiences of your life for your pitch
• How to tell me, show me, and sign me up in one minute
• How to make a good impression through any medium
• The dos and don’ts of pitching etiquette—and how to correct common mistakes
• The unspoken rules in Silicon Valley
A former mentor at 500 Startups, where she was a pitching coach to world-changing companies at one of the largest incubators in the U.S., Perruchet shares her proven methodology, insider advice, and hands-on exercises. She provides a step-by-step framework that ensures you are pitch perfect whenever you need to sell an idea, a product, a business—or yourself.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Presentation Skills That Will Take You to the Top by Jerry Weissman’s brand new collection of 4 authoritative books on making outstanding presentations
Four breakthrough books help you deliver outstanding, winning presentations of all kinds — whatever your goals, whatever your audience!
Jerry Weissman has helped the world’s top executives create the most important presentations of their lives: make-or-break investor presentations that have raised hundreds of billions of dollars from demanding, expert investors. Now, in this remarkable 4 book collection, Weissman teaches everything you need to deliver the most compelling, successful presentations of your life! In Presentations in Action: 80 Memorable Presentation Lessons from the Masters, Weissman reveals how the world’s best presenters have applied timeless principles of outstanding communication – and shows how you can, too. Packed with unforgettable examples from the media, sports, politics, science, art, music, literature, the military, and history, it teaches 100% actionable lessons for supercharging everything from content and graphics to delivery! Next, In the Line of Fire: How to Handle Tough Questions...When It Counts, Second Edition, Weissman shows how to answer even the toughest questions with perfect assurance… avoid the defensiveness, evasiveness, or anger that destroy careers… brilliantly control the entire exchange with hostile questioners! Weissman’s Presenting to Win: The Art of Telling Your Story, Updated and Expanded Editionis the industry’s best start-to-finish guide to connecting with even the toughest audiences...telling them compelling stories that focus on what’s in it for them… and moving people to action. Finally, in his brand-new Winning Strategies for Power Presentations, Weissman distills 75 best practices he’s developed through 20+ years coaching executives on high-stakes presentations. He shares powerful new insights into contents, graphics, delivery, Q&A sessions, and more. He also offers new advice on making persuasive political and scripted speeches, developing a richer public speaking voice, interviewing others, demonstrating products, and much more. Every technique is illuminated with a compelling case study, reflecting experiences of communicators ranging from Ronald Reagan to Jon Stewart, Stephen King to Netflix CEO Reed Hastings.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Need more resources? Search our Databases
Search our Discovery platform for more books, articles and other resources
To browse our collections - try the following search statements: