LibGuides: Journalism Research: Reference Sources

Dictionary of Media and Communications by Marcel Danesi; Arthur Asa Berger (Foreword by)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780765680983
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.

21st Century Communication by William F. Eadie (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781412950305
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Donald H. Johnston (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection
ISBN: 9780123876706
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
"The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Articles begin with easily understandable concepts and become increasingly sophisticated, satisfying the needs of all readers."
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780761929574
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by Kerric Harvey (Editor)
Call Number: REFJF799.H382014
ISBN: 9781452244716
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference. It reflects the changing landscape of politics where old modes and methods of political communication from elites to the masses (top down) and from the masses to elites (bottom up) are being displaced rapidly by social media, and where activists are building new movements and protests using social media to alter mainstream political agendas.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by Patrick Rössler (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118784044
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
"A comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research" Publisher
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by Angharad N. Valdivia (Editor)
Call Number: REF P 87.5.I585 2013
ISBN: 9781405193566
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.

Key Concepts in Journalism Studies by Bob Franklin; Martin Hamer; Mark Hanna; Marie Kinsey; John E. Richardson
Call Number: REF PN 4731 .K49 2005
ISBN: 9780761944829
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
The SAGE Key Concepts series provide students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding. Written by experienced and respected academics, the books are indispensable study aids and guides to comprehension. Key Concepts in Journalism offers a systematic and accessible introduction to the terms, processes, and effects of journalism;a combination of practical considerations with theoretical issues; and further reading suggestions. The authors bring an enormous range of experience in newspaper and broadcast journalism, at national and regional level, as well as their teaching expertise. This book will be essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.

Encyclopedia of War Journalism, Third Edition by Mitchel Roth (General Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 4784.W37 R68 2015
ISBN: 9781619257450
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Up-to-date through 2015, this edition examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East and everything in between.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on historical and contemporary important men and women
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.

Use indexes and abstracts to identify articles in journals by keyword. Some of these databases will include the link to the full text of articles, others may provide citations and brief descriptions. If you do not find the full text of the article you need, perform a title search for the name of the journal to find out if AUD Library has access to the issue you need.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and includes journals, books and conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus includes smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and includes journals, books and conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus includes smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Online Reference Database

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Over 73,000 articles - a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which to begin your research
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
Encyclopedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Gale References eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library orremotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library orremotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Journalism Research

Online Reference Database

Dictionaries