Interior Design

Whether you inhabit a studio or a sprawling house with one challenging space, Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan, co-founder of the most popular interior design website, Apartment Therapy, will help you transform tiny into totally fabulous.   According to Maxwell, size constraints can actually unlock your design creativity and allow you to focus on what's essential. In this vibrant book, he shares forty small, cool spaces that will change your thinking forever.   These apartments and houses demonstrate hundreds of inventive solutions for creating more space in your home, and for making it more comfortable. Leading us through entrances, living rooms, kitchens and dining rooms, bedrooms, home offices, and kids' rooms, Apartment Therapy's Big Book of Small, Cool Spaces is brimming with ingenious tips and ideas, such as:   *   Shifting the sense of scale through contrasting colors *   Adding airiness by using transparent collections *   Utilizing the area under a loft bed for a kitchen and mini-bar *   Tucking an office with chic vintage doors into an unused bedroom corner   In each dwelling Maxwell points out what makes the layout work and what adds style. Most of the "therapy" involves minor tweaks that can be accomplished on a limited budget, such as dividing a room with sheer curtains, turning a door into a desk, or disguising electrical boxes with art displays. An extensive resource guide, including Maxwell's favorite websites for buying desks, open storage solutions, and much more, will help you turn even the tiniest residence into a place you are always happy to come home to. 

Architectural Drawing is the classic, comprehensive compendium of architectural drawing. Featuring examples from many high-profile architects and firms, the nearly one-thousand drawings and photos in this book illustrate all of the various types and methods of architectural drawing. The new Fourth Edition is fully updated throughout to cover all of the latest drawing methods and includes a new chapter on the convergence of digital and traditional drawing. Online instructor ancillaries will be offered.

'Design Art of Villa II', showcases a collection of beautiful and uniquely designed villa design projects from designers all around the world. Lavishly illustrated, the book provides explanations about each villa, architectural plans and detailed photography of both the exterior and interior. The design agency, project designer and their team as well as the individual photographers are all listed for each project.

The second edition of The Fundamentals of Interior Design provides a thorough introduction to the key elements of interior design and the ideas that underpin them. The book describes the entirety of the creative process, from researching initial ideas to realizing them in three-dimensional form. Throughout the text, guidelines are given to provide structure to the interior design process and the reader is encouraged to adapt and initiate methodologies to suit individual project needs. This approach is intended to give designers a belief in their own abilities, and the confidence to tackle different projects with the unique challenges that each one brings.The book features a variety of diagrams and talking points to encourage students and practitioners to think about key issues such as understanding spatial relationships and the use of sustainable materials.This second edition includes new case studies focusing on well-known international interior design studios, such as Conran and Partners, UK, Slade Architecture, US, Gensler, US and award winning architects Chae-Pereira in South Korea.The introduction of interviews with contemporary interior designers allows readers an insight in to the working world of interior design.The new projects allow students to explore what they have learned in each chapter through experimentation and these activities encourage creativity and further learning.

The book introduces a variety of French commercial spaces designed to promote good health and well being such as spas, resorts, gymnasia and gardens. Such 'recuperation' spaces help us relax and rebuild and lead more effective and productive lives and have become part of modern living. Interior design plays a key role in providing environments aimed at developing the philosophy of well being and this book showcases 50 designs who exemplify current trends.

New Edition.Interior Design Reference Manual: Everything You Need to Know to Pass the NCIDQ Exam offers a comprehensive review of all NCIDQ exam content areas. What's New for the Sixth Edition Revised to focus on IDFX, IDPX, and the Interior Design Practicum. Updated to incorporate the 2012 International Building Code and 2010 ADA/ABA Accessibility Guidelines. Organized by content area, with icons that indicate which content areas are covered in each chapter. Expanded coverage of: Acoustics; Barrier-free design; Building regulations and codes; Cost estimating and budgeting; Finishes; Lighting; Means of egress; Measurement and drafting; Project management; Quartz surfacing; Seismic restraint for ceilings; Sourcing and researching manufacturer's information; Sustainable design The two multiple-choice sections of the NCIDQ Examination have changed to a computer-based format. Use the Interior Design Reference Manual study guidelines, exam tips, and tables to simplify your NCIDQ exam preparation. Exam Content Areas Covered Design Concepts and Programming Design Constraints Building Systems and Construction Research, Analysis, and Selection of Products and Details Communication and Documentation Project and Business Management

This textbook/workbook prepares interior design students for understanding how to change their professional practice from a project-based activity to a knowledge-based activity. Robinson and Parman address the different forms of quantitative and qualitative information, the different sources of materials (especially in the age of the Internet), and how to differentiate these sources and types of information. Instructors will find the text a vital research aid for the student to develop analytical skills and help them transform these scientific models into unique and innovative processes for their design projects.

"Retail Spaces: Small Stores, No. 2 builds upon the overwhelming success of the first volume and features more than 50 of the most innovative new small stores. With a plethora of small retail operations opening across the globe, and in all sectors of the retailing world, this exciting segment of the industry continues to drive retailing forward. The many recent success stories included in this book prove that small spaces and big sales do go hand-in-hand. With careful design and exciting visual presentation small retailers are generating profits that rival their much larger competitors and far exceed what the square footage would seemingly predict. Although it's easy to focus only on the challenges of a small store, the advantages are significant and are emphasized in this new volume. In addition to the obvious savings in real estate and overhead costs, the small retailer has the ability to precisely focus the shopper's attention. Careful attention to store layout and visual presentation ensure that every item in a retailer's offering beckons to the consumer. The results are gems of the retailing world that entice shoppers to linger--and return again and again. This book is an invaluable resource for retailers, interior designers, architects and visual merchandising professionals engaged in the future of retailing. "

Inspiring interior design for both professionals and enthusiastic amateurs, that focuses on creating an intelligent and individually styled living space using the very latest in design techniques and products Following on from the success of the first two Sakura Villa books, 'Sakura Villa III' offers a selection of new interior projects. Each one includes cutting-edge, fashionable contents and an abundance of accessories. The book showcases a series of stylish interiors, to match the stylish lifestyles of their owners, and offers inspiration for professional designers and design enthusiasts.

Shaping Interior Space, 3rd Edition, emphasizes the experiential contributions of interior design. Intended for all design students, the author covers strategies for creating interior environments that work as a total system to enhance the experience of the user. The book is organized into three parts, a background part introduces ways of designing for experience and reviews some important design principles and strategies. Part Two focuses on the three experiential goals that form the backbone of the book, order, enrichment, and expression. These serve as overall umbrellas that capture the many dimensions of users' experiences in the built environment. Part Three is devoted to design process. The process is broken up into understanding, ideation, and development and covers many tasks performed during the early and intermediate stages of design.

Devoted entirely to textiles for interiors, Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors, 4th Edition, focuses on the most current fiber and fabric information including new fiber technology and nanofibers, the role of the interior designer in selecting textiles, and the environmental impact of textiles. The book includes in-depth coverage of household and institutional textiles, in addition to commercial and residential textiles for upholstered furniture, windows, walls, and floor coverings. Full-color line drawings and photographs illustrate fibers, yarns, fabrics, manufacturing equipment, coloring, finishings, and end products. Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors provides students with all of the technical information, aesthetic fundamentals, and practical knowledge they need to select textiles for every type of residential and commercial interior.

Writing for Interior Design teaches writing skills that interior design students can apply in the classroom and in their ongoing professional lives.