Elements of Style by Stephen Calloway; Elizabeth Cromley
Publication Date: 1997-03-04
Examines the details of architectural styles from 1485 to 1996, and provides a directory of suppliers and biographical data on select architects and designers.
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Joanna Banham (Editor)
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Who's Who in Design 3 by Peter Zec
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Available October 2003 avedition This book details the internationally most interesting and significant design offices and studios, looking at a wide range of areas, from product design to jewellery design, from communication design to advertising. It provides information on their works and presents examples of some of their most recent designs. Complete addresses of the offices are also included, making this a vital and indispensable reference work for all who are interested in contemporary design.
Interior Graphic and Design Standards by S. C. Reznikoff
Publication Date: 1986-10-01
This book, the most comprehensive and basic working tool available to the design professional, encompasses every area of expertise required in the practice of contemporary interior design. Architects, interior designers, drafters, specifiers, and designers and manufacturers of building materials, furnishings, and equipment for interiors will find essential specification data and thousands of fully metricated, dimensioned drawings of interiors and the components of interiors.
Interior Graphic Standards by Corky Binggeli; Patricia Greichen
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
The second edition of Interior Graphic Standards is completely revised with updated and expanded coverage of: Interior material energy use and environmental impact; ADA Accessibility Guidelines; Residential design and construction; Basic building construction types and their impact on interiors; Historic preservation and adaptive reuse of interiors; Life cycle costing and estimating for interior materials; Behavioral aspects of designing with color; Current issues in office design; Commercial and residential interior renovation for smaller projects; Current information on computer technology and interior design practice.
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning by Joseph DeChiara; Julius Panero; Martin Zelnik
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The "Silver Bible" -- thoroughly revised, updated and redesigned Interior designers, architects, and other design professionals can still turn to the field’s beloved "Silver Bible" for a wealth of information related to the design and planning of residential and commercial interiors.
History of Furniture by Mark Hinchman
Publication Date: 2009-04-23
Globalization affects every aspect of our lives, from what we buy to what we eat to what we study-and the study of design history is no exception. Programs in art, architecture, and interior design all face the challenge of providing students with information from around the world. History of Furniture: A Global View covers the major historical movements in furniture design (from prehistoric periods through contemporary times) and includes parts of the world that traditional history books ignore or underserve, such as Africa and China. It presents the achievements of Western furniture designers, not in isolation from the rest of the globe, but in vibrant contact with it. For example, students will learn about the influence of Islamic design on Romanesque style and Thailand's interpretation of Art Nouveau. In short, this comprehensive book with a global perspective focuses on the evolution of furniture from ancient history through postmodernism.
History of Interior Design by John Pile; Judith Gura
Publication Date: 2013-09-16
This classic reference presents the history of interior design from prehistory to the present. Exploring a broad range of design styles and movements, this revised and expanded edition includes coverage of non-Western design and vernacular interior architecture and features 665 photographs and drawings (color and black-and-white). A History of Interior Design is an essential resource for practicing and aspiring professionals in interior design, art history, and architecture, and general readers interested in design and the decorative arts.
History of Interior Design by Jeannie Ireland
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
History of Interior Design is a comprehensive survey covering the design history of architecture, interiors, furniture, and accessories in civilizations all over the world, from ancient times to the present. Although the primary focus is on Western civilizations, it also explores Eastern design history. Each chapter begins with background information about the social and cultural context and technical innovations of the period and place, and shows their impact on interior design motifs. Throughout the text, influences of the styles and design solutions of one culture on others are highlighted, demonstrating how interior design has evolved as a continuing exchange of ideas.