LibGuides: Technology in Business : focus on Blockchains or Cryptocurrencies or Digital Currencies: Finding Companies

Company Research Path

Search resources on companies that provide the products that you are focusing on, then determine which industries they belong to. Such companies can be identified by searching through directories, trade association materials, company reports, and trade journals.

Basically the following steps will help you find company information:

1. Search the company in the Library databases.

2. Look at the company's website.

3. Search for newspaper, journal and trade publication articles about the company.

You may find it useful to know what type of company it is: public or private, a subsiduary or a non-profit.

Company Sources

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Click on "company information" from top menu bar in order to look for company profiles
This database offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full- text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. >>>>In the blue bar at the top of the page, mouse over the 'More' link and select the 'Company Profiles' link to access company reports from MarketLine, Datamonitor and Life Science Analytics. MarketLine and Datamonitor reports generally include a SWOT Analysis.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Under "search by subject or topic" click on "Company Profiles Search" and then after retrieving the results, click on "Company Directories & Profiles" to find various company profiles
"An interdisciplinary, full-text database including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works."You can also find Company Information here by expanding the box on the bottom right of the page "Get Company Info" and search for the company by name.

Company Financials

Refinitiv-Eikon
Eikon, formerly Zawya, covers detailed information on the top 10,000 companies in the Middle East with live news coverage through the Zawya Dow Jones newswire service. Industry news, macroeconomic reports, country statistics, stock market data as well as specialized databases such as IPO, Sukuk and Private Equity monitors are also included.
>>>>Eikon can only be accessed at the workstation next to the Circulation Desk visible from the library entrance or by using a username. Please email a member of the library staff for assistance.
Eikon, formerly Zawya, covers detailed information on the top 10,000 companies in the Middle East with live news coverage through the Zawya Dow Jones newswire service. Industry news, macroeconomic reports, country statistics, stock market data as well as specialized databases such as IPO, Sukuk and Private Equity monitors are also included. >>>>Eikon can only be accessed at the workstation next to the Circulation Desk visible from the library entrance or by using a username. Please email a member of the library staff for assistance.