Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore all our resources from a single search box
The Inevitable by It's 2046. You don't own a car, or much of anything else, instead subscribing to items as you need them. Virtual reality is as commonplace as cell phones. You talk to your devices with hand gestures. Practically all surfaces have become a screen, and each screen watches you back. Robots and AI took over your old job but also created a new one for you, work you could not have imagined back in 2016. In The Inevitable, Kevin Kelly, the visionary thinker who foresaw the scope of the internet revolution, provides a plausible, optimistic road map for the next 30 years. He shows how the coming changes can be understood as the result of a few long-term forces that are already in motion. Kelly both describes these 12 deep trends-including cognifying our surroundings, valuing access over ownership, tracking everything-and demonstrates how they are codependent on one another. These larger forces will completely revolutionize the way we work, play, learn, buy, and communicate with each other. Ultimately, predicts Kelly, all humans and machines will be linked up into a global matrix, a convergence that will be seen as the largest, most complex, and most surprising event ever up to this time. The Inevitablewill be indispensable to anyone who seeks guidance on where to position themselves as this new world emerge.
Call Number: T 173.8 .K45 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
Innovators in Digital News by News organisations are struggling with technology transitions and fearful for their future. Yet some organisations are succeeding. Why are organisations such as Vice and BuzzFeed investing in journalism and why are pedigree journalists joining them? Why are news organisations making journalists redundant but recruiting technologists? Why does everyone seem to be embracing native advertising? Why are some news organisations more innovative than others? Drawing on extensive first-hand research this book explains how different international media organisations approach digital news and pinpoints the common organisational factors that help build their success.
Call Number: PN 4784 .O62 K864 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-30
The News Gap by An analysis of divergent online news preferences of journalists and consumers and what this means for media and democracy in the digital age. The websites of major media organizations--CNN, USA Today, the Guardian, and others--provide the public with much of the online news they consume. But although a large proportion of the top stories these sites disseminate cover politics, international relations, and economics, users of these sites show a preference (as evidenced by the most viewed stories) for news about sports, crime, entertainment, and weather. In this book, Pablo Boczkowski and Eugenia Mitchelstein examine the divergence in preferences and consider its implications for the media industry and democratic life in the digital age. Drawing on analyses of more than 50,000 stories posted on twenty news sites in seven countries in North and South America and Western Europe, Boczkowski and Mitchelstein find that the gap in news preferences exists regardless of ideological orientation or national media culture, and that it is not affected by innovations in forms of storytelling, such as blogs and user-generated content on mainstream news sites. Drawing upon these findings, they explore the news gap's troubling consequences for the matrix that connects communication, technology, and politics in the digital age.
Call Number: PN 4784 .O62 B63 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Browse case studies through Discovery
Perform an advanced search using "case studies" as a subject term and select Communication & Mass Media as a discipline. Continue to refine search as required.
SAGE Business Cases
SAGE Business Cases provides the application of topic understanding to data analysis in order for students to grasp real-world examples from the leading businesses in the world. Offered on SAGE’s digital library platform. These cases are integrated with SAGE’s journal, book, video, and reference content, allowing for a rich scholarly environment and enhanced discovery. This database includes more than 1000 cases.
This AUD Library guide includes library and web resources to start your research on different themes within different countries.
Media Companies & Industry Reports
Business Source Ultimate | EBSCO
In the blue bar at the top of the page, mouse over the 'More' link and select the 'Company Profiles' link to access available company reports
Passport Global Market Information Database provides industry reports and company profiles on companies which have had a significant impact in the related industry.
Find company profiles and SEC filings.
Perform general search on company and browse by negative/positive reports.
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
21st Century Communication by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by
Call Number: Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
"The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Articles begin with easily understandable concepts and become increasingly sophisticated, satisfying the needs of all readers."
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by
Call Number: REFJF799.H382014
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference. It reflects the changing landscape of politics where old modes and methods of political communication from elites to the masses (top down) and from the masses to elites (bottom up) are being displaced rapidly by social media, and where activists are building new movements and protests using social media to alter mainstream political agendas.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
"A comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research" Publisher
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by
Call Number: REF P 87.5.I585 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies by
Call Number: REF PN 4731 .K49 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-03
The SAGE Key Concepts series provide students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding. Written by experienced and respected academics, the books are indispensable study aids and guides to comprehension. Key Concepts in Journalism offers a systematic and accessible introduction to the terms, processes, and effects of journalism;a combination of practical considerations with theoretical issues; and further reading suggestions. The authors bring an enormous range of experience in newspaper and broadcast journalism, at national and regional level, as well as their teaching expertise. This book will be essential reading for students in journalism, and an invaluable reference tool for their professional careers.
Encyclopedia of War Journalism, Third Edition by
Call Number: REF PN 4784.W37 R68 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Up-to-date through 2015, this edition examines the development, history and current state of war journalism. From the Mexican War in 1846 to the current Conflicts in the Middle East and everything in between.
Biographical information on historical and contemporary important men and women
Use indexes and abstracts to identify articles in journals by keyword. Some of these databases will include the link to the full text of articles, others may provide citations and brief descriptions. If you do not find the full text of the article you need, perform a title search for the name of the journal to find out if AUD Library has access to the issue you need.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
ERIC Plus Text
"ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC is the largest education database in the world"
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and includes journals, books and conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus includes smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.