Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
The Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film by Ian Aitken (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN 1995.9 .D6 C545 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-08
"Previously published in three volumes, entries have been edited and updated for the new, concise edition and three new entries have been added on: India, China and Africa."
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by Angharad N. Valdivia (Editor)
Call Number: REF P 87.5.I585 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Donald H. Johnston (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
"The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Articles begin with easily understandable concepts and become increasingly sophisticated, satisfying the needs of all readers."
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by Kerric Harvey (Editor)
Call Number: REFJF799.H382014
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference. It reflects the changing landscape of politics where old modes and methods of political communication from elites to the masses (top down) and from the masses to elites (bottom up) are being displaced rapidly by social media, and where activists are building new movements and protests using social media to alter mainstream political agendas.
"A comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research" Publisher
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers by Rebecca Hillauer; Allison Brown (Translator); Deborah Cohen (Translator); Nancy Joyce (Translator)
Call Number: REF PN 1998.2 .H5513 2005
Publication Date: 2006-02-02
"Arab women filmmakers: Who are they? What drives them? What are their experiences in a male-dominated profession? How do they function within the contexts - and constraints - of patriarchal societies? The answers are complex and sometimes surprising, as complex and surprising as the vastlydifferent films these women direct. In this unprecedented book, Rebecca Hillauer assembles a comprehensive and penetrating look into the history of Arab women's filmmaking, as well as the political and social background of the countries - Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Syria, Algeria, among others - fromwhich these artists emerged. "
Encyclopedia of Film Noir by Geoff Mayer; Brian McDonnell
Call Number: REF PN 1995.9 .F54 M39 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-30
When viewers think of film noir, they often picture actors like Humphrey Bogart playing characters like Sam Spade in "The Maltese Falcon," the film based on the book by Dashiell Hammett. Yet film noir is a genre much richer. The authors first examine the debate surrounding the parameters of the genre and the many different ways it is defined. They discuss the Noir City, its setting and backdrop, and also the cultural (WWII) and institutional (the House UnAmerican Activities Committee, and the Production Code Administration) influences on the subgenres. An analysis of the low budget and series film noirs provides information on those cult classics. With over 200 entries on films, directors, and actors, the "Encyclopedia of Film Noir" is the most complete resource for film fans, students, and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors cites every director of stand alone long-form television programs: made for TV movies, movie-length pilots, mini-series, and feature-length anthology programs, as well as drama, comedy, and musical specials of more than 60 minutes. A much-needed reference that celebrates these often-neglected artists, Encyclopedia of Television Film Directors is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in the history of the medium.
The Film Encyclopedia by Ephraim Katz; Ronald Dean Nolen
Call Number: REF PN 1993.45 .K34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
"The best movie reference book, hands down" (Newsweek) is now available in a deftly revised and meticulously updated seventh edition. Ephraim Katz's celebrated and comprehensive cinema Bible, The Film Encyclopedia, has been lovingly expanded to include new, thorough coverage of independent films, the artistic and technical aspects of filmmaking, and the trends that lie close to the heart of today's movie buff. Cinephiles will delight in new entries ranging from Sophia Coppola and Wes Anderson to The Lord of the Rings and Captain America. Built upon a foundation which inspired Katherine Hepburn to comment, "Wow! What a book!," The Film Encyclopedia 7e is an indispensable addition to any movie fan's home library.
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema by Terri Ginsberg; Chris Lippard
Call Number: REF PN 1993.5 .M53 G56 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-11
The Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema covers the production and exhibition of cinema in the Middle East and in communities whose heritage is from the region and whose films commonly reflect this background. It covers the cinemas of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.
"The AFI Catalog of Feature Films, the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length films and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011. It also includes AFI AWARDS honorees from 2000 through 2014."
"The Internet Movie Database is an online database of information related to films, television programs and video games, including cast, production crew, fictional characters, biographies, plot summaries, trivia and reviews, operated by IMDb.com, Inc., a subsidiary of Amazon."
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library orremotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Find thousands of translations from Arabic into and out of English on the Oxford Dictionaries Premium site, and learn more about Arabic language and culture.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)The Oxford English Dictionary is the pre-eminent dictionary of the English language, with authoritative definitions of more than 500,000 words. In addition to current definitions, it traces the development of words - thus readers of earlier texts turn to the OED to find out what words meant at different periods. Entries include etymologies and quotations - drawn from literary, historical, and scientific sources - illustrating a word's meaning and use.