LibGuides: Research Impact & Support: Journal Impact

Journal impact tools measure the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year or period. There is currently no single platform that indexes all journals across different publishers and disciplines. Use the following tools to identify peer reviewed journals and to review publishers' copyright and self-archiving policies

General coverage

SCImago
The SCImago Journal Rank uses journal information from the SCOPUS database to identify and compare the impact of a journal.
The Eigenfactor® Project
From the University of Washington, evaluates the influence of scholarly periodicals, maps the structure of academic research, and helps researchers navigate scholarly literature. Search the database for journal and article impact data from 1997 to 2015.

Discipline Specific

Australian Business Deans Council
Publishes the Journal Quality List (A,B,C & D) in business and management.
Chartered ABS
Publishes Academic Journal Guide. The AJG is based upon peer review, editorial and expert judgments, and citation analysis.
JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Matches a scholar's planned submissions using Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
CWTS Journal Indicators
Bibliometric indicators for scientific journals, calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) and based on the SCOPUS bibliographic database.
CiteScore by Elsevier
CiteScore is a simple way of measuring the citation impact of sources, such as journals. CiteScore metrics (not CiteScore Tracker metrics) are reported once per year, and do not change, so they are suitable for reporting the citation impact of a serial title. Scopus.com is a dynamic database and changes daily.

The CiteScore metrics are created from a snapshot of Scopus, and represent the relative performance of serial titles at that point in time. The metrics for previous years have been calculated by recreating the Scopus database as it was at a consistent degree of completeness (around 95%) for each year's metrics.