LibGuides: ARCH 253: Articles and Databases

Print and E-journals

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Online Research Library This link opens in a new window
This subscription is provided by the American Society of Civil Engineers, and provides access to all ASCE journals, and includes the archives for the trade publication: Civil Engineering Magazine. It covers topics in transportation, buildings, structures, soil dynamics, environmental impacts, sustainability, energy and geology.
This subscription is provided by the American Society of Civil Engineers, and provides access to all ASCE journals, and includes the archives for the trade publication: Civil Engineering Magazine. It covers topics in transportation, buildings, structures, soil dynamics, environmental impacts, sustainability, energy and geology.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
This database covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis."
"Online archive of core scholarly journals and books in a wide variety of disciplines. It provides full text articles in back issues of journals from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis."

Directory of open access journals-Architecture
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Websters Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines.
Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.
Press Reader contains 1700 newspapers and magazines from 92 countries in 48 languages. A convenient way to read all your favorite newspapers and magazines on the day they are published, on one site, with a simple user interface and easy-to-use navigation tools. Use your tablet/iPad to download, read and browse newspapers and magazines. Download magazines or newspaper issues on-campus to read off-campus and create an account.

World Floor Plans
This site was established in 2011 on the back of a need to have quick and easy access to various building and unit floor plans in the city of Dubai in the U.A.E. The site started when a family member, working in real estate at the time, was regularly scouring the web to obtain floor plans to assist a client. The idea then developed to have a central location, fully indexed, of floor plans accessible to everyone. Since then the site has grown, initially to other cities in the U.A.E., then to expanding into the Middle East, and now we are listing floor plans from all over the world.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel content includes interactive Books , process and design information, best practice insights, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines. Our subscription does not include all of the titles in Knovel; if there is a padlock icon next to a title, that means we do not have access to that e-book or article in Knovel.
Knovel content includes interactive Books , process and design information, best practice insights, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines. Our subscription does not include all of the titles in Knovel; if there is a padlock icon next to a title, that means we do not have access to that e-book or article in Knovel.

AA Files
AA Files is the Architectural Association School of Architecture's journal of record. Launched in 1981 by the AA School's then chairman Alvin Boyarsky, the journal appears twice a year and is sent out to members of the Architectural Association, individual subscribers and is distributed to a global network of bookshops. Currently under the editorship of Thomas Weaver, AA Files looks to promote original and engaging writing on architecture. It does this by drawing both on the AA School’s own academic research, lecture programme, exhibitions and events, as well by a rich and eclectic mix of architectural scholarship from all over the world.
Abitare
Founded in 1961 by Piera Peroni Abitare magazine has crossed the history of costume, architecture and design, international, following in its pages the evolution of our ways of life and how we inhabit places
The Architects' Journal
The AJ supports architects on a daily basis by providing them with in-depth news analysis,
insight into issues that are affecting the industry, comprehensive building studies with
technical details and drawings, client profiles, competition updates as well as letting you know who’s won what and why.
Architectural digest
Architectural Digest magazineArchitectural Digest is a vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, innovative homes and products, inspiring decorating ideas, culture, and travel. Launched in 1920 as a California trade quarterly, the magazine evolved over the years, increasing in frequency and broadening in scope until it became the byword for living well. Today AD publishes nine international editions, and its brand has immeasurable influence in the world of interior design.
Architectural lighting
The discipline of lighting design has matured, grown, broadened and redefined itself. It has now become an intrinsic and essential part of the architectural design process. The magazine reflects this progression, recognising that the architects and professional lighting designers who form its core readership are looking for more than a catalogue of case studies and products. The design conversation has moved on and Lighting is the next step.
Architectural Record
For 125 years, Architectural Record has provided the architecture and design community with in-depth stories on projects, trends, and architectural technology; thorough coverage of products, news, and books; and commentary, criticism, and interviews with and from leaders in the field.
Architectural Review
The Architectural Review is a monthly international architectural magazine. It has been published in London since 1896.Its articles cover the built environment – which includes landscape, building design, interior design and urbanism – as well as theory of these subjects
Casabella
Casabella is a monthly Italian architectural and product design magazine with a focus on modern, radical design and architecture. It includes interviews with the world's most prominent architects.
Detail
DETAIL is the international journal dedicated to architecture and construction details. Each issue focuses on a particular aspect of design, such as constructing with concrete, roof structures, etc. Emphasis is placed on presenting designs in great detail, and complementing these with drawings in practical scales and superb photographs that illustrate real world examples from near and far. The English edition is published eight times per year.
Domus
Since 1928 Domus is a reference for architects, industry professionals, designers and students as well as a precious tool for work, for staying abreast with the news and for deepening knowlwdge. Completely bilingual (English and Italian), Domus is international in form, content and distribution
Future Architecturas
Future Arquitecturas (arqfuture) emerged from the desire to show the current architecture competitions being developed in Spain and all around the world. future arquitecturas aims to disseminate the pedagogical function of the competitions in the international scene, whether they are public, private, open or restricted…It is published 4 issues per year and is distributed to 50 different countries around the world in a bilingual (Spanish-English) edition.
GA Architect
Japanese Architecture Journal
Garden History
Garden History is one of the foremost journals in its field worldwide and remains the journal in which to be published for those dedicated to garden history scholarship. It has a wide academic and professional readership, and form the earliest issue to the present is an enormously important and relevant source of information, providing vital support to the society's promotion of the study of garden history, landscape gardening and horticulture.
L'arca
l’Arca International is the first magazine published in three languages French/Italian/English) entirely devoted to the world of modern-day design. Architecture, design and visual communication are the focal points of every single issue. l’Arca International is the result of a publishing project that began thirty years ago and which, thanks to the awareness and enthusiasm of its founders, has constantly updated itself through new content, columns, sections and contributions.
Metropolis
For 35 years, Metropolis has been the architecture and design industry’s most compelling storyteller. Metropolis’ s editorial scope spans design at all scales—from the smallest products to city planning. Metropolis has always sought out, and featured, the game changers in the industry, from emerging talent to established individuals and organizations. And each issue contains stories that link design to evolving cultural trends, from big data to the maker movement.
Riba Journal
Architecture, information and inspiration are brought to you UK’s largest-circulation architecture magazine, published for the Royal Institute of British Architects since 1893. New articles are published and curated by the editor. An edited selection goes out each month to members and subscribers in the printed RIBA Journal (audited circulation 27,905) and its bi-monthly Products in Practice.