The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of the Social Mind by Julian Kiverstein (Editor)The idea that humans are by nature social and political animals can be traced back to Aristotle. More recently, it has also generated great interest and controversy in related disciplines such as anthropology, biology, psychology, neuroscience and even economics. What is it about humans that enabled them to construct a social reality of unrivalled complexity? Is there something distinctive about the human mind that explains how social lives are organised around conventions, norms, and institutions? The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of the Social Mindis an outstanding reference source to the key topics and debates in this exciting subject and is the first collection of its kind. An international team of contributors present perspectives from diverse areas of research in philosophy, drawing on comparative and developmental psychology, evolutionary anthropology, cognitive neuroscience, and behavioural economics. The thirty-two original chapters are divided into five parts: The evolution of the social mind: including the social intelligence hypothesis, co- evolution of culture and cognition, ethnic cognition, and cooperation; Developmental and comparative perspectives: including primate and infant understanding of mind, shared intentionality, and moral cognition; Mechanisms of the moral mind:including norm compliance, social emotion, and implicit attitudes; Naturalistic approaches to shared and collective intentionality: including joint action, team reasoning and group thinking, and social kinds; Social forms of selfhood and mindedness: including moral identity, empathy and shared emotion, normativity and intentionality. Essential reading for students and researchers in philosophy of mind and psychology, The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of the Social Mind is also suitable for those in related disciplines such as social psychology, cognitive neuroscience, economics and sociology.
Call Number: REF BD 418.3 .R774 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Roy F. Baumeister (Editor); Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
Call Number: REF BF 57 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
The SAGE Handbook of Social Psychology by Michael A. Hogg (Editor); Joel M. Cooper (Editor)"This Volume is everything one would want from a handbook" -CHOICE Magazine"The Handbook is a tour de force survey of current Social Psychologyâe¦ it makes an excellent resource for personal use by researchers, graduate students and perhaps advanced undergraduates who are seeking an in-depth background treatment of major topics." -Professor Richard C. Sherman, Miami University "The Handbook maps on to my current curricula perfectly. I've been searching for a text that is comprehensive, yet reader-friendly, and this text does a terrific job in both of these regards." -Professor John R. Chambers, University of FloridaThe SAGE Handbook of Social Psychology has, since its publication in 2003, lived up to its intentions of being a definitive resource for advanced students and researchers in social psychology as well as those in cognate disciplines throughout the world. Authored by leading scholars in the field, it is both comprehensive in scope, authoritative and scholarly. In response to market demand, The SAGE Handbook of Social Psychology: Concise Student Edition represents a slimmer, more course-focused and student-friendly volume than the original Handbook. The editors and authors have also updated all references, provided chapter introductions and summaries and a new Preface outlining the benefits of using the Handbook as an upper level teaching resource. It will prove indispensable reading for all upper level and graduate students studying social psychology.
Call Number: REF HM 1033 .S24 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Applied Social Psychology by Linda Steg (Editor); Kees Keizer (Editor); Abraham P. Buunk (Editor); Talib Rothengatter (Editor)Applied Social Psychology combines the science of social psychology with the practical application of solving social problems that exist in the real world. This exciting textbook provides a thorough explanation of how social psychologists can contribute to the understanding and management of different social problems. A highly prestigious team of contributors from across Europe and the United States illustrate how social psychological theories, research methods and intervention techniques can be successfully applied to problems encountered in the fields of physical and mental health, immigration and integration, economic behaviour, political behaviour, environmental behaviour, organisations and the classroom. This expanded edition also features new chapters on the dynamic fields of consumer behaviour, traffic behaviour, criminal behaviour, sport and development aid. Each field studied features an overview of important problems, the role of human behaviour in these problems, the factors influencing relevant behaviour, and effective ways to change this behaviour. This is an essential volume for all undergraduate and graduate students studying applied social psychology.
Call Number: HM 1033 .A65 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-24
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Social Psychology by Jason A. NierTaking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources. Taking Sides readers also offer a Topic Guide and an annotated listing of Internet References for further consideration of the issues. An online Instructor’s Resource Guide with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit www.mhhe.com/takingsides for more details.
Call Number: TOPIC HM 1033 .T34 2013
Publication Date: 2012-03-26
The Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by Kay Deaux (Editor); Mark SnyderFor decades, the relationship between personality psychology and social psychology has been defined by its contrasts: sometimes highly overlapping and intertwined, at other times conflicting and even competing. This contradiction has been ultimately counterproductive, as it has precluded theunderstanding of people as both individuals and social beings. The Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology captures the history, current status, and future prospects of personality and social psychology - presented not as a set of parallel accounts, but as an integrated perspective on the behavior of persons in social contexts. The contributors tothis handbook were charged not only with presenting examples of work that crosses the boundaries of personality and social psychology, but also with thinking deeply and generatively about the ways in which a unified social-personality perspective can provide a greater understanding of the phenomenathat concern psychological investigators. The chapters of this handbook weave together work from personality and social psychology, addressing both distinctive contributions and common ground. In so doing, the authors offer compelling evidence for the power and the potential of an integrated approach, as well as new suggestions anddirections for research. This volume is a groundbreaking achievement for the field of psychology, one which promises to set the agenda for future generations of scholars.
Call Number: BF 131 .O94 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-10
Classic and Contemporary Perspectives in Social Psychology by Sharon E. Preves; Jeylan T. MortimerBringing together a wide variety of captivating classic and contemporary selections, this anthology includes work from a symbolic interactionist perspective as well as studies informed by expectation states theory, experimental social psychology, and life course sociology. The selectionsaddress the social psychological underpinnings and outcomes of group dynamics, social stratification, bureaucracy, deviant behavior, globalization, and technological change. The book's innovative structure allows students to experience the foundational work of influential sociologists andpsychologists through the lens of cutting-edge issues. This groundbreaking collection features brief excerpts from the classic literature of social psychology (by Emory Bogardus, Melvin Kohn, Stanley Milgram, Muzafer Sherif, Philip Zimbardo, and others). These texts are paired with explanatorycomments by the editors and contemporary writings that show the earlier studies' relevance to contemporary social issues.Enhanced by several pedagogical features, including introductory comments that highlight the connections between the classic and contemporary selections, highly engaging discussion questions for each article and unit, and a wide variety of supplemental resources (readings, websites, films, and radioprograms), the book is ideal for both graduate and undergraduate courses in social psychology.
Call Number: HM 1033 .C596 2011
Publication Date: 2010-03-29
Religion, Personality, and Social Behavior by Vassilis Saroglou (Editor)Psychological interest in religion, in terms of both theory and empirical research, has been constant since the beginning of psychology. However, since the beginning of the 21st Century, partially due to important social and political events and developments, interest in religion within personality and social psychology has increased. This volume reviews the accumulated research and theory on the major aspects of personality and social psychology as applied to religion. It provides a high quality integrative, systematic, and rigorous review of that work, with a focus on topics that are both central in personality and social psychology and have allowed for the accumulation of solid and replicated and not impressionist knowledge on religion. The contributors are renowned researchers in the field who offer an international perspective that is both illuminating, yet neutral, with respect to religion. The volume¿s primary audience are academics, researchers, and advanced students in social psychology, but it will also interest those in sociology, political sciences, and anthropology.
Call Number: BF 39.9 .R45 2014
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
The Psychology of Racial Colorblindness by Philip J. MazzoccoThis book summarizes and integrates the social scientific research on racial colorblindness, focusing primarily on work within the field of psychology. A new multi-variety colorblind framework is presented, which provides theoretical coherence to the present literature as well as a guide for future research. After considering the historical context in which colorblind ideologies have manifested and operated, research is presented that establishes how the colorblind mentality ignores important racial realities and tends to harm racial minorities across a wide variety of domains. Beneficial alternative ideologies are discussed, as are strategies that may be useful in challenging the colorblind ideology. This book will be of interest to both researchers and theorists who study racial ideology, as well as social justice advocates and practitioners who contend with racial colorblindness in real-world contexts.
Illuminating How Identities, Stereotypes and Inequalities Matter Through Gender Studies by D. Nicole Farris (Editor); D'Lane R. Compton (Editor); Mary Ann Davis (Editor)This collection highlights and extends contemporary women's and gender studies by presenting theoretical analyses and innovative research conceptualizations, applications and methodologies via a diverse variety of popular-in-the-classroom topics, such as changing masculinities; comedic/dramatic portrayals of ethnicity and discrimination; stigma and differences within mainstream media gender stereotypes; intersections of gendered and sexual identities in social media and fundamental institutions. These topics emphasize relevant issues and nuances within popular culture, identities and perceptions and social problems and illustrate the breadth of gender studies and its applications, while the diverse methodologies like historical comparisons; ethnographic,nbsp;demographic and statistical analyses, demonstrate its epistemology. Each chapter remains solidly founded in gender theory while making significant innovative contributions to the overall field.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Playing and Reality Revisited by Gennaro Saragnano; Christian Seulin (Editor)Playing and Reality Revisited is the first volume of a new IPA series dedicated to the greatest writings of psychoanalysis. More than forty years after its publication, Donald W. Winnicott's Playing and Reality is still a source of inspiration for numerous psychoanalysts. The authors have invited some of the most eminent specialists of Winnicott's thinking to write on the most significant themes that the author discovered and highlighted brillantly in his book. They show how such concepts as transitional object and phenomena, the use of an object, and mirroring, remain essential today, and explore the way in which Winnicott conceived playing, creativity, cultural experience and adolescence, demonstrating their contemporary relevance. This book is both an homage to Winnicott and a fascinating extension of his work.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-07-03
Social Psychology by John D. DeLamater; Daniel J. Myers; Jessica L. CollettWritten by well-known sociologists John D. DeLamater, Daniel J. Myers, and Jessica L. Collett, this fully revised and updated edition of Social Psychology is a highly accessible and engaging exploration of the question "what is it that makes us who we are?". With hundreds of real-world examples, figures, and photographs and grounded in the latest research, the text explores such topics as self, attitudes, social influence, emotions, interpersonal attraction and relationships, and collective behavior. The book also explains the methods that social psychologists use to investigate human behavior in a social context and the theoretical perspectives that ground the discipline. Each chapter is a self-contained unit for ease of use in any classroom.