Currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. Abstracts and some full text available.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Research Methods in Architecture
Programming for Design by Edith CherryQuickly master architectural programming concepts, skills, and techniques In the essential discipline of architectural programming, the ideas of philosophy, sociology, anthropology, psychology, and history find their focus in the realities of site conditions, budgets, and functionality. Author Edith Cherry vividly demonstrates in this inspiring tutorial that the programming process not only helps architects avoid the endless design revisions occurring in most projects, but that it is also the key to designing for optimal form and function. Programming for Design lets you rapidly acquire the knowledge and skills needed to successfully program a moderate-size space. Rather than simply describe basic principles and practices, this straightforward guide helps you master architectural programming by actually doing it. Professor Cherry identifies the central issues involved and describes the skills needed to work with clients to identify problems to be solved by a design effort. Emphasizing designing for people, she offers proven strategies and techniques for goal setting, information gathering and analysis, concept development, program synthesis, and communicating with clients. The book is also devoted to practical applications. The author walks you step-by-step through a project of your own choosing, providing numerous examples and four case studies within each step that vividly illustrate how to effectively gather, process, and communicate information. Programming for Design features more than 200 supporting illustrations, diagrams, and sidebars appearing throughout the text, reproducing pithy sayings by such far-flung figures as Plato and Yogi Berra, Einstein and Lao Tzu, that help relate the programming process to other disciplines.
Publication Date: 1998-11-10
Architectural Research Methods by David Wang; Linda N. Groatresearch methods is specifically targeted to help professional designers and researchers better conduct and understand research. Part I explores basic research issues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory to method and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensive treatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Research Methods for Architecture by Raymond LucasWhile fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be.
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
The Journey to Dissertation Success: The Journey to Dissertation Success : For Construction, Property, and Architecture Students by Elizabeth Laycock; Tim Howarth; Paul WatsonAre you about to embark on a research project for the first time? Unsure which data collection methods are right for your study? Don't know where to start? By presenting the reader with a series of key research management questions, this book introduces the novice researcher to a range of research designs and data collection methods. Building an understanding of these choices and how they can impact on the dissertation itself will lead to a more robust and rigorous dissertation study. This book is designed to direct your research choices with informative text and key questions, advice from "virtual supervisors" and reflections from students. Lists of suggested further reading also help to support you on your journey to developing an organised and successful dissertation project. Researchers seeking support on their journey to a successful dissertation will find this book a valuable resource.