LibGuides: WLDC201/202 : World Cultures: Images & Videos

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.
Britannica Image Quest is an online file of more than two million rights-cleared images from some 40 image collections. Complete metadata, which includes the source, copyright holder, caption, and keywords, is provided for every image.

The New York Public Library Digital Collection
ArchNet Look up Islamic Architecture here
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
David Rumsey's Visual Collections
Tribal Photo A photographic resource that supports tribal survival, the defense of human rights and cultural autonomy of indigenous people.
The Peoples of The World Foundation Non-profit site dedicate to photoethnography and visual anthropology
Internet Archive Image Search Enables you to search in multiple resources such as NASA Images, Metropolitan Museum of Art, USGS Maps, California State Library...
LIFE Photo Archive_Hosted by Google A digital collection of millions of photographs from LIFE magazine from 1750s to today.
Collections Search Center (CSC)_Smithsonian Institute Search over 12 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 2.4 million online media files.
Google Street Art Nearly 10,000 images from around the world.

Kanopy Streaming Video (Limited Collection) This link opens in a new window
The database contains a selection of films and documentaries that have been specifically requested by faculty members.
The database contains a selection of films and documentaries that have been specifically requested by faculty members.

Video Art Distributors You can also look through the websites of video art distributors. They probably won't have free videos available to watch on demand, but it could give you some ideas about what to search for and where. The link above takes you to the Video Data Bank at SAIC. Click on the little "i" for more options.
Video Channel
more...less...
Links to digital exhibitions of video art. Look to the right-hand side of the page for links to specific nations' art and try clicking on the link to Video Art Database for more online videos.