IDES404 : Senior Thesis: Research & Portfolio

The second edition of The Fundamentals of Interior Design provides a thorough introduction to the key elements of interior design and the ideas that underpin them. The book describes the entirety of the creative process, from researching initial ideas to realizing them in three-dimensional form. Throughout the text, guidelines are given to provide structure to the interior design process and the reader is encouraged to adapt and initiate methodologies to suit individual project needs. This approach is intended to give designers a belief in their own abilities, and the confidence to tackle different projects with the unique challenges that each one brings. The book features a variety of diagrams and talking points to encourage students and practitioners to think about key issues such as understanding spatial relationships and the use of sustainable materials. This second edition includes new case studies focusing on well-known international interior design studios, such as Conran and Partners, UK, Slade Architecture, US, Gensler, US and award winning architects Chae-Pereira in South Korea. The introduction of interviews with contemporary interior designers allows readers an insight in to the working world of interior design. The new projects allow students to explore what they have learned in each chapter through experimentation and these activities encourage creativity and further learning.

Interior design has shifted significantly in the past fifty years from a focus on home decoration within family and consumer sciences to a focus on the impact of health and safety within the interior environment. This shift has called for a deeper focus in evidence-based research for interior design education and practice.　 Research Methods for Interior Design provides a broad range of qualitative and quantitative examples, each highlighted as a case of interior design research. Each chapter is supplemented with an in-depth introduction, additional questions, suggested exercises, and additional research references. The book's subtitle, Applying Interiority, identifies one reason why the field of interior design is expanding, namely, all people wish to achieve a subjective sense of well-being within built environments, even when those environments are not defined by walls. The chapters of this book exemplify different ways to comprehend interiority through clearly defined research methodologies. This book is a significant resource for interior design students, educators, and researchers in providing them with an expanded vision of what interior design research can encompass.

This textbook/workbook prepares interior design students for understanding how to change their professional practice from a project-based activity to a knowledge-based activity. Robinson and Parman address the different forms of quantitative and qualitative information, the different sources of materials (especially in the age of the Internet), and how to differentiate these sources and types of information. Instructors will find the text a vital research aid for the student to develop analytical skills and help them transform these scientific models into unique and innovative processes for their design projects.

The Interior Design Reference & Specification Book collects the information essential to planning and executing interior projects of all shapes and sizes, and distills it in a format that is as easy to use as it is to carry.

Writing for Interior Design teaches writing skills that interior design students can apply in the classroom and in their ongoing professional lives.

100,000 sold in hardcover It's hard to imagine a more comprehensive look at color scheme possibilities. --Los Angeles Times What a cool idea for the color challenged among us... 200 combinations fit for a king and queen and their royal family. --Booklist When it comes to decorating, the endless color choices available are enough to overwhelm the most determined home decorator. The Color Scheme Bible solves that problem, and with hardcover sales of 100,000 its value is well proven. This lay-flat paperback edition is sure to be an equally popular choice. With 200 color scheme ideas to choose from, The Color Scheme Bible is an easy-to-use and inspiring reference to using color in the home. It describes how colors interact and the effects they have on a room. It explains how to choose colors that complement each other for a subdued effect, and which colors and combinations energize a room. The book also includes 50 recommended palettes that can be used with different materials for refreshingly original color schemes. Features include: How color creates ambiance and atmosphere How to use color to give a small room the illusion of space and depth 200 distinctive color schemes inspired by nature, art, travel, and even a favorite possession 50 recommended palettes A "How to Use This Book" gatefold. The Color Scheme Bible changed the way we approach choosing colors for the walls, floors and furniture in our homes. It is an essential handbook for decorators and interior designers.

Now available in an updated and expanded third edition, The Codes Guidebook for Interiors incorporates the latest standards for interior projects. The book presents the International Building Code, Life Safety Code, NFPA 5000, ICC/ANSI accessibility standard, and many others in a clear, jargon-free style. In addition, you'll find a thorough referencce for the NCIDQ exam or the interior portion of the ARE. Whether you're an architect, interior designer, facilities manager, construction manager, or developer, The Codes Guidebook for Interiors, Third Edition is an indispensable tool of the trade. Order your copy today.

The study of human body measurements on a comparative basis is known as anthropometrics. Its applicability to the design process is seen in the physical fit, or interface, between the human body and the various components of interior space. Human Dimension and Interior Space is the first major anthropometrically based reference book of design standards for use by all those involved with the physical planning and detailing of interiors, including interior designers, architects, furniture designers, builders, industrial designers, and students of design. The use of anthropometric data, although no substitute for good design or sound professional judgment should be viewed as one of the many tools required in the design process. This comprehensive overview of anthropometrics consists of three parts. The first part deals with the theory and application of anthropometrics and includes a special section dealing with physically disabled and elderly people. It provides the designer with the fundamentals of anthropometrics and a basic understanding of how interior design standards are established. The second part contains easy-to-read, illustrated anthropometric tables, which provide the most current data available on human body size, organized by age and percentile groupings. Also included is data relative to the range of joint motion and body sizes of children. The third part contains hundreds of dimensioned drawings, illustrating in plan and section the proper anthropometrically based relationship between user and space. The types of spaces range from residential and commercial to recreational and institutional, and all dimensions include metric conversions. In the Epilogue, the authors challenge the interior design profession, the building industry, and the furniture manufacturer to seriously explore the problem of adjustability in design. They expose the fallacy of designing to accommodate the so-called average man, who, in fact, does not exist. Using government data, including studies prepared by Dr. Howard Stoudt, Dr. Albert Damon, and Dr. Ross McFarland, formerly of the Harvard School of Public Health, and Jean Roberts of the U.S. Public Health Service, Panero and Zelnik have devised a system of interior design reference standards, easily understood through a series of charts and situation drawings. With Human Dimension and Interior Space, these standards are now accessible to all designers of interior environments.