Digital Media Ethics by Charles EssThis is the first textbook on the central ethical issues of digital media, ranging from computers and the Internet to mobile phones. It is also the first book of its kind to consider these issues from a global perspective, introducing ethical theories from multiple cultures. It further utilizes examples from around the world, such as the publication of "the Mohammed Cartoons"; diverse understandings of what "privacy" means in Facebook or MySpace; why pirating CDs and DVDs may be justified in developing countries; and culturally-variable perspectives on sexuality and what counts as "pornography." Readers and students thus acquire a global perspective on the central ethical issues of digital media, including privacy, copyright, pornography and violence, and the ethics of cross-cultural communication online. The book is designed for use across disciplines - media and communication studies, computer science and informatics, as well as philosophy. It is up-to-date, accessible and student- and classroom-friendly: each topic and theory is interwoven throughout the volume with detailed sets of questions that foster careful reflection, writing, and discussion into these issues and their possible resolutions. Each chapter further includes additional resources and suggestions for further research and writing.
Call Number: QA 76.9 .M65 E87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Ethics and the Media by Stephen J. A. WardThis book is a comprehensive introduction to media ethics and an exploration of how it must change to adapt to today's media revolution. Using an ethical framework for the new 'mixed media' ethics - taking in the global, interactive media produced by both citizens and professionals - Stephen J. A. Ward discusses the ethical issues which occur in both mainstream and non-mainstream media, from newspapers and broadcast to social media users and bloggers. He re-defines traditional conceptions of journalistic truth-seeking, objectivity and minimizing harm, and examines the responsible use of images in an image-saturated public sphere. He also draws the contours of a future media ethics for the 'new mainstream media' and puts forward cosmopolitan principles for a global media ethics. His book will be invaluable for all students of media and for others who are interested in media ethics.
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Media Law and Ethics by Roy L. Moore; Michael D. MurrayThis is the first textbook to explicitly integrate both media law and ethics within one volume. A truly comprehensive overview, it is a thoughtful introduction to media law principles and cases and the related ethical concerns relevant to the practice of professional communication. With special attention made to key cases and practices, authors Roy L. Moore and Michael D. Murray revisit the most timely and incendiary issues in modern American media. Exploring where the law ends and ethics begin, each chapter includes a discussion of the ethical dimensions of a specific legal topic. The Fourth Edition includes new legal cases and emerging issues in media law and ethics as well as revised subject and case indices. In addition to a separate chapter devoted exclusively to media ethics by Michael Farrell, a new chapter on international and foreign law by Dr. Kyu Ho Youm has also been added. Resources on the companion website include updated PowerPoint presentations and a sample syllabus for instructors, and a glossary, chapter review questions, chapter quizzes, and all seven of the book¿s original appendices for students. An excellent integration of both law and ethics, this is the ideal text for undergraduate and graduate courses in media law and ethics.
Call Number: KF 2750 .M662 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-14
Explorations in Global Media Ethics by Muhammad Ayish (Editor); Shakuntala Rao (Editor)Studies of global media and journalism have repeatedly returned to discussions of ethics. This book highlights the difficulty that journalists encounter when establishing appropriate ethical practices and marks the pressing importance of global media ethics as a subject of current debate. A wide range of contributors ¿ both scholars and practitioners of journalism ¿ identify how changes in journalism practice, developments in new media technologies, legal regulations, and shifting patterns of ownership all play a role in creating ethical tensions for journalists, with some chapters in the book suggesting practical solutions to this pertinent issue. The growing need to faithfully represent other diverse cultural groups is also considered, with certain chapters discussing the impact that human rights, freedom and justice have upon journalistic decision making. Explorations in Global Media Ethics recognises that, with the escalation of globalisation and a public striving for honest quality media, journalists around the world face an increasing pressure to comply with and simultaneously satisfy diverse ethical practices at both a local and a more global level. The book sympathises with the position of the journalist and calls for greater consideration of his ambiguous role. This book was originally published as a special issue of Journalism Studies.
Call Number: P 94 .E96 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Media Localism by Christopher AliWe live in a boosterish era that exhorts us to play local and buy local. But what does it mean to support local media? How should we define local media in the first place? Christopher Ali delves into our ideas about localism and their far-reaching repercussions for the discourse of federal media policy and regulation. His critique focuses on the new interest in localism among regulators in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Canada. As he shows, the many different and often contradictory meanings of localism complicate efforts to study local voices. At the same time, market factors and regulators' unwillingness to critically examine local media blunt challenges to the status quo. Ali argues that reconciling the places where we live with the spaces we inhabit will point regulators toward effective policies that strengthens local media. That new approach will again elevate local media to its rightful place as a vital part of the public good.
Publication Date: 2017-02-03
Media Laws Across the World by Junhao Hong; Tuo-Yu SuHong and Su compare the evolution of media laws across the world, focusing on representative countries in North America, Western Europe and Asia and analyzes the political, economic, cultural and societal reasons for the evolution. In addition, their work also examines the challenges facing media laws in the new era of globalization and informatization. Moreover, the authors cover issues that are related to many newly emerged legal aspects such digital media law issues, libel law issues, copyright issues, and cyber-privacy issues. This book should be a very helpful tool not only for the readers in communication/media studies and legal studies, but also for those in political science and sociology. In addition, legal practitioners in media law may also be quite interested.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
New Media, Old Regimes by Lyombe Eko; Lyombe S. EkoNew Media, Old Regimes: Case Studies in Comparative Communication Law and Policy, by Lyombe S. Eko, is a collection of novel theoretical perspectives and case studies which illustrate how different communication law regimes conceptualize and apply universal ideals of human rights and freedom of expression to media controversies in real space and cyberspace. Eko's investigation includes such controversial communication policy topics as North African regimes' failed use of telecommunications to suppress the social change of the Arab Spring, the Mohammad cartoon controversy in Denmark and France, French and American policy of development and diffusion of the Minitel and the Internet, American and Russian regulation of internet surveillance, the problem of managing pedopornography in cyberspace and real space, and other current communication policy cases. This study will aid readers not only to understand different national and cultural perspectives of thorny communication issues, but also show that though freedom of expression is a pluralistic concept, the actions of all political regimes at the national, transnational, and international levels must be held up to the universal standards of freedom of expression set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. New Media, Old Regimes provides essential scholarship on comparative communication law and policy in a world of new media.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Media Regulation, Public Interest and the Law by Mike Feintuck; Mike VarneyRegulation of the media has traditionally been premised upon claims of 'the public interest', yet the term itself remains contested and generally ill defined. In the context of technological development and convergence, as well as corporate conglomeration, traditional 'public service' valuesin British broadcasting are challenged by market values. With such ongoing trends continuing apace, regulators must increasingly justify their interventions.The communication industries' commercialisation and privatisation pose a fundamental threat to democratic values. Media Regulation, Public Interest and the Law argues that regulators will only successfully protect such values if claims associated with 'citizenship' are recognised as the rationaleand objective for the regulatory endeavour.While such themes are central to the book, this second edition has been substantially revised and updated, to take account of matters such as European Directives, the UK's Communications Act 2003, the process of reviewing the BBC's Charter, and relevantaspects of the reform of general competition law.
World Trends in Freedom of Expression and Media Development series offer a critical analysis of the trends in media freedom, pluralism, independence and the safety of journalists. With a special focus on gender equality in the media, the report provides a global perspective that serves as an essential resource for UNESCO Member States, international organizations, civil society groups, academia and individuals seeking to understand the changing global media landscape.
"The Digital News Project marks an expansion of the Digital News Report into a full‐scale series of research pieces, thanks to the support of Google via the Digital News Initiative. More than a dozen new reports were released in 2016. The new series builds on the success of the Digital News Report as the world’s largest comparative international survey of changing news habits, and will continue to track the transition of the news industry towards an increasingly digital and multi‐platform future."
"PolitiFact checks claims by elected officials, candidates, leaders of political parties and political activists. We examine officials at all levels of government, from county commissioners to U.S. senators, from city council members to the president."
"Accuracy In Media is a non-profit, grassroots citizens watchdog of the news media that critiques botched and bungled news stories and sets the record straight on important issues that have received slanted coverage." It has a strongly right-wing orientation."
"As a progressive group, FAIR believes that structural reform is ultimately needed to break up the dominant media conglomerates, establish independent public broadcasting and promote strong non-profit sources of information."
"Acting as mainstream media watchdogs while pointing engaged Americans toward valuable alternative fare, these groups have raised awareness that any democratic reform in the United States must include media reform – Robert McChesney/John Nichols – The Nation"