Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hit Makers by NATIONAL BESTSELLER A Book of the Year Selection for Inc. and Library Journal "This book picks up where The Tipping Point left off." -- Adam Grant, Wharton professor and New York Times bestselling author of ORIGINALS and GIVE AND TAKE Nothing "goes viral." If you think a popular movie, song, or app came out of nowhere to become a word-of-mouth success in today's crowded media environment, you're missing the real story. Each blockbuster has a secret history--of power, influence, dark broadcasters, and passionate cults that turn some new products into cultural phenomena. Even the most brilliant ideas wither in obscurity if they fail to connect with the right network, and the consumers that matter most aren't the early adopters, but rather their friends, followers, and imitators -- the audience of your audience. In his groundbreaking investigation, Atlantic senior editor Derek Thompson uncovers the hidden psychology of why we like what we like and reveals the economics of cultural markets that invisibly shape our lives. Shattering the sentimental myths of hit-making that dominate pop culture and business, Thompson shows quality is insufficient for success, nobody has "good taste," and some of the most popular products in history were one bad break away from utter failure. It may be a new world, but there are some enduring truths to what audiences and consumers want. People love a familiar surprise: a product that is bold, yet sneakily recognizable. Every business, every artist, every person looking to promote themselves and their work wants to know what makes some works so successful while others disappear. Hit Makers is a magical mystery tour through the last century of pop culture blockbusters and the most valuable currency of the twenty-first century--people's attention. From the dawn of impressionist art to the future of Facebook, from small Etsy designers to the origin of Star Wars, Derek Thompson leaves no pet rock unturned to tell the fascinating story of how culture happens and why things become popular. In Hit Makers, Derek Thompson investigates: · The secret link between ESPN's sticky programming and the The Weeknd's catchy choruses · Why Facebook is today's most important newspaper · How advertising critics predicted Donald Trump · The 5th grader who accidentally launched "Rock Around the Clock," the biggest hit in rock and roll history · How Barack Obama and his speechwriters think of themselves as songwriters · How Disney conquered the world--but the future of hits belongs to savvy amateurs and individuals · The French collector who accidentally created the Impressionist canon · Quantitative evidence that the biggest music hits aren't always the best · Why almost all Hollywood blockbusters are sequels, reboots, and adaptations · Why one year--1991--is responsible for the way pop music sounds today · Why another year --1932--created the business model of film · How data scientists proved that "going viral" is a myth · How 19th century immigration patterns explain the most heard song in the Western Hemisphere
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Audience by Proprietary audience development is now a core marketing responsibility. Every company needs audiences to survive. They are where you find new customers and develop more profitable relationships. And yet, most companies today treat their email, mobile, and social media audiences like afterthoughts instead of the corporate assets they are. With AUDIENCE, Jeff Rohrs seeks to change this dynamic through adoption of The Audience Imperative. This powerful mandate challenges all companies to use their paid, owned, and earned media to not only sell in the short-term but also increase the size, engagement, and value of their proprietary audiences over the long-term. As content marketing professionals have discovered, the days of "build it and they will come" are long gone. If you're looking for a way to gain a lasting advantage over your competition, look no further and start building your email, Facebook, Google, Instagram, mobile app, SMS, Twitter, website, and YouTube audiences to last.
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Blockbusters: Why Big Hits and Big Risks are the Future of the Entertainment Business by What is behind the phenomenal success of entertainment businesses such as Warner Bros., Marvel Enterprises and Manchester United - along with such stars as Jay-Z and Lady Gaga? Which strategies give leaders in film, television, music, publishing, and sports an edge over their rivals? Anita Elberse, Harvard Business School's expert on the entertainment industry, has done pioneering research on the worlds of media and sports for more than a decade. Now, in this groundbreaking book, she explains a powerful truth about the fiercely competitive world of entertainment: building a business around blockbuster products - the movies, television shows, songs and books that are hugely expensive to produce and market - is the surest path to long-term success. Along the way, she reveals why entertainment executives often spend outrageous amounts of money in search of the next blockbuster, why superstars are paid unimaginable sums and how digital technologies are transforming the entertainment landscape.Full of inside stories emerging from her unprecedented access to some of the world's most successful entertainment brands, Blockbusters is destined to become required reading for anyone seeking to understand how the entertainment industry really works - and how to navigate today's high-stakes business world at large. "Convincing ...Elberse's Blockbusters builds on her already impressive academic resume to create an accessible and entertaining book." (Financial Times).
Call Number: P 96 .E25 E53 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Art of Social Media by By now it's clear that whether you're promoting a business, a product, or yourself, social media is near the top of what determines your success or failure. And there are countless pundits, authors, and consultants eager to advise you. But there's no one quite like Guy Kawasaki, the legendary former chief evangelist for Apple and one of the pioneers of business blogging, tweeting, Facebooking, Tumbling, and much, much more. Now Guy has teamed up with Peg Fitzpatrick, who he says is the best social-media person he's ever met, to offer The Art of Social Media--the one essential guide you need to get the most bang for your time, effort, and money. With over one hundred practical tips, tricks, and insights, Guy and Peg present a bottom-up strategy to produce a focused, thorough, and compelling presence on the most popular social-media platforms. They guide you through steps to build your foundation, amass your digital assets, optimize your profile, attract more followers, and effectively integrate social media and blogging. For beginners overwhelmed by too many choices as well as seasoned professionals eager to improve their game, The Art of Social Media is full of tactics that have been proven to work in the real world. Or as Guy puts it, "great stuff, no fluff."
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-12-04
Web application that tracks social media statistics and analytics. Tracks YouTube platform and has analytical information for Twitch, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Mixer, Dailymotion, and DLive
Nielsen is a global measurement and data analytics company. Find open access reports and data available through Nielsen Insights.
Audience Ratings in a Digital Age by "In Tracking the Audience: The Ratings Industry From Analog to Digital, author Karen Buzzard examines the key economic, political, and competitive factors that have influenced ratings methods dominant in each of the markets for radio, TV, and the Internet,..."
Publication Date: 2012-04-27
Kellogg on Advertising and Media by "The biggest challenges facing marketers today- including the loss of mass audiences, the decline of broadcast television advertising, and the role of online advertising..."
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
Media Audience Research by "The only comprehensive training book on conducting research into all forms of media This book outlines all the methods for conducting research--both active and passive as well as quantitative and qualitative--in all forms of media, including new media such as the Internet, mobile phones and social media."I
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Digital Marketing & Social Media
The Rise of the Platform Marketer by Develop the skills and capabilities quickly becoming essentialin the new marketing paradigm The Rise of the Platform Marketer helps you leverage the"always-on" consumer to deliver more personalized engagementsacross media, channels, and devices. By managing these interactionsat scale throughout the customer lifecycle, you can optimize thevalue of your customers and segments through strategic use ofConnected CRM (cCRM). This book shows you how to take advantage ofthe massive growth and proliferation of social and other digitalmedia, with clear strategy for developing the new capabilities,tools, metrics, and processes essential in the age of platformmarketing. Coverage includes identity management, audiencemanagement, consumer privacy and compliance, media and channeloptimization, measurement and attribution, experience design, andintegrated technology, plus a discussion on how the company as awhole must evolve to keep pace with marketing's increasingly rapidevolution and capabilities. The expansion of digital platforms has created addressabilityopportunity through search, video, display, and social media,offering today's foremost opportunity for competitive advantage.This book outlines the capabilities and perspective required toreap the rewards, helping you shift your strategy to align with thedemands and expectations of the modern consumer. Develop the tools, metrics, and processes necessary to engagethe modern consumer Gain a deep understanding of Connected Customer RelationshipManagement Leverage trends in technology and analytics to create targetedmessages Adjust your company's structure and operations to align withnew capabilities The new era of marketing requires thorough understanding ofcCRM, along with the knowledge and innovative forethought to thrivein the ever-expanding digital audience platform environment. TheRise of the Platform Marketer gives you an edge, and helps youclear a path to full implementation.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Mastering Social Media Analytics: Use Data to Build a Business Strategy by With this video, you'll learn how to analyze the impact of social media and build successful strategies for the use of analytics on your specific projects or in your entire organization. This video covers the strategic use and application of analytics using social media data. It initially describes the basic elements of data and analytics and then dives deeper into strategy and application methods. The list of topics covered include: Data collection, types of analytics for social data analysis, the analytics process, metrics, dashboards, reporting, tactics and strategy. The goal is to empower the viewer to pursue any objective requiring social data analysis.
What You Will Learn:
Call Number: Video on Safari O'Reilly Platform
Publication Date: 2018
Need more resources? Search our Databases
Search our Discovery platform for more books, articles and other resources
To browse our collections - try the following search terms
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.
21st Century Communication by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by
Call Number: Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2003-04-24
"The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research. Articles begin with easily understandable concepts and become increasingly sophisticated, satisfying the needs of all readers."
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
"Written in a clear and accessible style that would suit the needs of journalists and scholars alike, this encyclopedia is highly recommended for large news organizations and all schools of journalism." --Starred Review, Library Journal
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by
Call Number: REFJF799.H382014
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics and the amazing transformations that social media use is rendering in other political systems heretofore resistant to democratization and change. In a time when social media are revolutionizing and galvanizing politics in the United States and around the world, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference. It reflects the changing landscape of politics where old modes and methods of political communication from elites to the masses (top down) and from the masses to elites (bottom up) are being displaced rapidly by social media, and where activists are building new movements and protests using social media to alter mainstream political agendas.
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects by
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
"A comprehensive collection of the most up-to-date research on the uses and impacts of media throughout the world. Provides the definitive resource on the most recent findings of media effects research" Publisher
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies by
Call Number: REF P 87.5.I585 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field. Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.
Use indexes and abstracts to identify articles in journals by keyword. Some of these databases will include the link to the full text of articles, others may provide citations and brief descriptions. If you do not find the full text of the article you need, perform a title search for the name of the journal to find out if AUD Library has access to the issue you need.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
"PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature from the 1800s to the present "
ERIC Plus Text
"ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC is the largest education database in the world"
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and includes journals, books and conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus includes smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.