Architecture

This book provides a clear guide for practitioners looking to establish or already conducting research projects in a practice context and graduate students looking to support their studies and role within practice. The book is divided into three key sections. The first section, across Chapters Two and Three, discusses why research is relevant to practice, how it benefits both practice and their clients, the breadth of topics, and tackles the key challenges facing research in practice and discusses how to overcome them, including how to fund research in practice. Section two, across Chapters Four to Seven, focuses on the mechanics of a research project, providing a step-by-step guide to reviewing literature and publications, data collection and research methods, ethics, writing up and publishing. In the final section, Chapter Eight presents profiles of twelve architecture practices ranging in size, structure, location, research interest and approach, followed by illustrated profiles of their design influenced research work. The practices featured here are Counterspace Studio, ZCD Architects, Baca Architects, Tonkin Liu, Pomeroy Studio, Architecture Research Office, Architype, Gehl Architects, Hayball, PLP Architects, White Arkitekter and Perkins&Will. With practice based examples throughout, beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and accessible style, this is an essential guide to conducting research that is relevant for architectural practices of all size, location and expertise.

David Chadderton's Air Conditioning is the complete introduction and reference guide for students and practitioners of air conditioning design, installation and maintenance.

THE ARCHITECT'S STUDIO COMPANION The latest edition of the guidebook every architect needs at their fingertips, updated and expanded throughout Start your designs on solid ground with The Architect's Studio Companion! This comprehensive handbook provides everything you need for the preliminary selecting, configuring, and sizing of the structural, environmental, safety, accessibility, and parking systems of a building. Edward Allen and Joseph Iano, authors of the market-leading Fundamentals of Building Construction, use their trademark talent for boiling down complex technical requirements into easy-to-use, time-saving guidelines for the engineering and architectural design of buildings. The new seventh edition is updated with new building codes, new information on heating and cooling systems for buildings, new structural systems, new requirements for tall mass timber buildings, and more. Throughout the text, straightforward diagrams and user-friendly explanations help you lay out the most important systems of a building in a matter of minutes without stressing about complicated technical concepts. Use this guide to introduce building systems into the early stages of design, and greatly reduce the need for later revisions or redesign???and keep your projects on time and on budget. Streamline your design process today with The Architect's Studio Companion: Explore alternative structural systems quickly and efficiently Compare the carbon impacts of alternative system choices... at a glance Stay current with the latest information about tall mass timber buildings Access information on high-performance heating and cooling systems, passive design, natural daylighting, and other sustainable design strategies with ease Incorporate U.S. and Canadian building code requirements and accessibility regulations into your designs More than just a reference, The Architect's Studio Companion, Seventh Edition is a must-have companion that no practicing architect or student should be without.

Architectural Drawing is the classic, comprehensive compendium of architectural drawing.

From Chicago to Toronto to Shanghai, cities around the world have sprouted “iconic” buildings by celebrity architects like Frank Gehry and Daniel Libeskind that compete for attention both on the skyline and in the media.

Architecture and Politics in Republican Rome is the first book to explore the intersection between Roman Republican building practices and politics (c.509-44 BCE).

The essential guide to beginning your career in architecture The Architecture Student's Handbook of Professional Practice opens the door to the vast body of knowledge required to effectively manage architectural projects and practice.

In The Art of the City Raffaele Milani reflects on the ways in which inhabitants of the cityscape have interacted on a spiritual, psychological, and philosophical level with the architecture that surrounds them.

The only Revit tutorial guide based on a real project workflow Autodesk Revit Architecture No Experience Required is the ultimate real-world guide for mastering this increasingly prevalent BIM software package.

This book describes step-by-step the entire building process of a passive, energy-efficient house in a Mediterranean climate. It chronicles the creation of the Fiorita Passive House in Cesena, Italy, offering designers valuable tips and practical advice for their own projects.

THE BESTSELLING, FULLY ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO THE 2018 INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE Uniquely marrying the graphic skills of bestselling author Francis D.K Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA, the new sixth edition of Building Codes Illustrated is a clear, concise, and easy-to-use visual guide to the International Building Code (IBC) for 2018. Fully updated throughout, it highlights all of the changes to the code for quick reference and easy navigation. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations. 

Winner of the IDEC 2017 Book Award Designing for Autism Spectrum Disorders explains the influence of the natural and man-made environment on individuals with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and other forms of intellectual/developmental disabilities (IDD). ors such as color, lighting, space organization, textures, acoustics, and ventilation.

The newly updated guide to design process modelingtechniques Designing with Models, Third Edition is the revised,step-by-step guide to basic and advanced design process modeling.This comprehensive text explains the process from start to finish,and has been expanded to include up-to-date information on digitalmodeling programs and rapid prototyping processes.

Yasser Elsheshtawy explores Dubai's history from its beginnings as a small fishing village to its place on the world stage today, using historical narratives, travel descriptions, novels and fictional accounts by local writers to bring colour to his history of the city's urban development.

While the efficiency and sustainability offensive is in full swing in most sectors of the economy, in the construction sector it is still in its very beginnings - economically as well as ecologically.

Sustainable environmental control through building design Heating, Cooling, and Lighting is the industry standard text on environmental control systems with the emphasis on sustainable design.

This is the most accessible architectural theory book that exists. Korydon Smith presents each common architectural subject - such as tectonics, use, and site - as though it were a conversation across history between theorists by providing you with the original text, a reflective text, and a philosophical text.

Why urban design is larger than architecture: the foundational qualities of urban design, examples and practitioners Urban design in practice is incremental, but architects imagine it as scaled-up architecture--large, ready-to-build pop-up cities.

30th Anniversary of the bestselling AutoCAD reference - fully updated for the 2018 release Mastering AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 is the complete tutorial and reference every design and drafting professional needs.

The best-selling Revit guide, now more complete than ever with all-new coverage on the 2018 release Mastering Autodesk Revit 2018 for Architecture is packed with focused discussions, detailed exercises, and real-world examples to help you get up to speed quickly on the latest version of Autodesk Revit for Architecture.

From Noah's Ark to Diller + Scofidio's "Blur" Building, a distinguished art historian maps new ways to think about architecture's origin and development.

Energy use in buildings in the EU represents about 40% of the total annual energy consumption. With greater awareness of the need to reduce energy consumption comes a growth of interest in passive cooling, particularly as an alternative to air-conditioning.

Exploring how neoliberalism has discovered the productive force of the psyche Byung-Chul Han, a star of German philosophy, continues his passionate critique of neoliberalism, trenchantly describing a regime of technological domination that, in contrast to Foucault's biopower, has discovered the productive force of the psyche. In the course of discussing all the facets of neoliberal psychopolitics fueling our contemporary crisis of freedom, Han elaborates an analytical framework that provides an original theory of Big Data and a lucid phenomenology of emotion. But this provocative essay proposes counter models too, presenting a wealth of ideas and surprising alternatives at every turn.

This innovative and unique book is a visual guide to the buildings that surround us, naming all the visible architectural features. Unlike other architectural dictionaries, the reader doesn't have to know the name before looking it up. An original and accessible take on the architectural dictionary, this book takes you on a visual tour of the buildings and structures around us.

While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be.

Of all building types, the skyscraper strikes observers as the most modern, in terms not only of height but also of boldness, scale, ingenuity, and daring. As a phenomenon born in late nineteenth-century America, it quickly became emblematic of New York, Chicago, and other major cities.

An updated guide to designing buildings that heat with the sun, cool with the wind, and light with the sky. This fully updated Third Edition covers principles of designing buildings that use the sun for heating, wind for cooling, and daylight for natural lighting. Using hundreds of illustrations, this book offers practical strategies that give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings.

This book is born out of a sense of scepticism with self-indulgence in architecture. It seeks a new prescription for readdressing architecture as an expression of human need. Sense, Sagacity and the Sublime define the architectural realities of its organizing principle, while Gods and Goddesses; Princes and Prelates;

The second edition of The Urban Design Reader draws together the very best of classic and contemporary writings to illuminate and expand the theory and practice of urban design.

Writing Built Environment Dissertations and Projects will help you to write a good dissertation or project by giving you a good understanding of what should be included, and showing you how to use data collection and analysis tools in the course of your research. Addresses prominent weaknesses in under-graduate dissertations including weak data collection; superficial analysis and poor reliability and validity Includes many more in-depth examples making it easy to understand and assimilate the concepts presented Issues around study skills and ethics are embedded throughout the book and the many examples encourage you to consider the concepts of reliability and validity