Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
Presents information on the "state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture." Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Encyclopedia of Mankind by Richard Carlisle (Editor)
Call Number: REF GN 307 .I44 1990
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind, a collection of textbooks designed by the editors of this series of informative books, to bring to light the way of life and lifestyles of many groups of people in various countries around the world. These books are filled with informative text and colorful photos of the peoples of the many cultures, societies, tribes and organizations who live on this planet we call Earth.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: REF HM 37 .B3 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-10
This is the only encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology to cover fully the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines. This work also covers key terms, ideas and people, thus eliminating the need to refer to other books for specific definitions or biographies. Special features include: * over 230 substantial entries on every major idea, individual and sub-discipline of social and cultural anthropology * over 100 international contributors * a glossary of more than 600 key terms and ideas.
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures by George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: REF G 63 .K874 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures comprises an extensive overhaul of the original ""Encyclopedia of the World's Nations"". It provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. This edition includes articles on three additional countries and 14 new sections on culture and society with each entry. Both the text and the extensive statistical data have been fully updated. New coverage includes: East Timor; Marshall Islands; and The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture; Entertainment and recreation; Etiquette; Family life; Flora and fauna; Folklore and mythology; Food; Health; A list of modern rulers; Living conditions; Personal appearance; Science and technology; Sports; and Work.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife by William M. Clements
Call Number: REF GR 35 .G75 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture by Gary Hoppenstand; John F. Bratzel
Call Number: REF HM 621 .G74 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Focusing on the cultural distinctiveness and diversity of the modern world, this six-volume reference is designed to meet the needs of today's multicultural classrooms and libraries. Thematic organization makes studying a broad range of topics-ranging from film and folk art to foods and fashions-ideal for students of American history and culture. Appealing to a wide range of audiences, the Encyclopedia gives readers quick access to the most intriguing countries of the world, all while offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century. Each engaging volume in the six-volume set features in-depth chapters covering every crucial aspect of popular culture, including: -Architecture -Art -Dance -Fashion & Appearance -Film -Food & Foodways -Games, Toys, and Pastimes -Literature -Love, Sex, & Marriage -Music -Periodicals -Radio & Television -Sports and Recreation -Theater & Performance -Transportation & Travel Beyond reflecting the tastes and attitudes of the people, popular culture gives students a lens through which to understand aculture's customs, value system, and core beliefs. Interested in how a Danish cartoon can spark a fury of protests across Muslim world, why some high schools in the U.S. are testing all athletes for performance-enhancing drugs, or why India's recent decision to ban smoking on television and films has Bollywood fuming? No subject is off limits in this unique resource. Each volume provides an introduction to the region's popular culture in a broad context and a general bibliography. Other useful features include a comprehensive resource guide of print, electronic, and organization sources for each chapter; a full subject index; and numerous color illustrations that richly document current popular life and culture around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: REF DS 4 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Philip Mattar
Call Number: REF DS4.E53 2002
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Arab Society and Culture by Samir Khalaf (Editor); Roseanne Saad Khalaf (Editor)
Call Number: HN 656 .A73 2009
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
'Arab Society and Culture' provides wide-ranging essays and supplementary readings that examine recent social and cultural change in Arab societies.From investigations of consumerism and Islam on the Internet to changing attitudes toward sex, gender, and homosexuality, this collection challenges stereotypes and assesses the impact of increasingly global and mobile lifestyles on family structure, public space, and private life. Emphasis is placed on how local cultures are adapting toglobal and postmodern transformations.Samples are taken from a wide range of writings on the Middle East, including essays by Orhan Pamuk, Bertrand Russell, Edward Said, Amin Maalouf, and Nawal El Saadawi. Many of the contributors have US academic posts and affiliations. Samir Khalaf is a professor of sociology and director of the Center for Behavioral Research at the American University of Beirut. He has held academic appointments at Princeton, Harvard, MIT, and New York University, and ismost recently the co-editor of 'Sexuality in the Arab World' (Saqi Books, 2006). Roseanne Saad Khalaf is an assistant professor of English and creative writing at the American University of Beirut, and she is the co-editor of 'Transit Beirut' (Saqi Books, 2006).