The Writing Center Coordinator and Assistant Professor of English
Academic Writing Sources
They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein
Call Number: PE 1431 .G73 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-27
"They Say / I Say" identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald
Call Number: Q 180.55 .M4 B66 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
A Writer's Resource : A Handbook for Writing and Research by Kathleen Blake Yancey; Janice Peritz; Elaine Maimon
Call Number: REF PE 1408. M3366 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-23
A Writer's Resource helps writers identify the fundamental elements of any writing situation--from academic papers to blog posts to 140-character tweets. Its innovative, transferable techniques and practices build confidence for composing across genres, media, and the academic curriculum. And with its numerous examples from a rich cross-section of disciplines, the fifth edition clearly demonstrates that every major, every field of study, and every potential career path depends on written communication. Connect Composition supports instruction across multiple semesters and courses with interactive exercises, online learning videos, enriched ebook materials,annotation and writing tools, and much more! * LearnSmartAchieve - a continuously adaptive learning system that pinpoints students' individual strengths and weaknesses and provides personalized support to help them master key topics and material. LearnSmart Achieve provides foundational support on key course areas such as the writing process, critical reading, the research process, reasoning and argument, grammar and common sentence problems,punctuation and mechanics, style and word choice, and multilingual writer support. * Power of Process - a critical reading and writing tool that guides students through instructor-chosen strategies and helps them engage directly with a text through highlighting, annotation, and short answer questions. *Analytics - Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement.
The Everyday Writer by Andrea A. Lunsford
Call Number: PE 1408 .L86 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
THIS TITLE HAS BEEN UPDATED TO REFLECT THE 2016 MLA UPDATES! Our editorial team has updated this text based on content from The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition. Browse our catalog or contact your representative for a full listing of updated titles and packages, or to request a custom ISBN. Contexts for writing keep changing, and Andrea Lunsford knows that every writer needs to engage with audiences and communicate ideas every day. The Everyday Writer shows novice writers how to navigate rhetorical situations and make effective choices everywhere they write. The illustrations, by Eisner Award nominee GB Tran, offer a high-interest approach to writing processes and encourage students to open and use their handbook. And Andrea's friendly voice is always front and center, ready to answer any question. With new and expanded coverage of presentations and multimodal projects, integrated advice for writers from all language and educational backgrounds, and help learning the moves that make expert writers credible, The Everyday Writer is the encouraging guide students need to take their writing to the next level.
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing by Jean Rose
Call Number: REF PE 1408 .R6758 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-27
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: REF LB 2369.T8 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.