"Definitions of the significant terms and concepts used in psychoanalytic, poststructuralist, Marxist, feminist, and postcolonial literary studies. This volume also provides useful discussions of the main areas of literary, critical and cultural theory."
Ruffner's AllusionsCultural, Literary, Biblical, and Historical: A Thematic Dictionary, 3rd edition, documents the deeper meanings of words from all the elements that make up our culture.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife by William M. Clements
Call Number: REF GR 35 .G75 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-30
"The work of over 200 expert contributors, this massive encyclopedia authoritatively and engagingly surveys folklife and traditions from around the world. Each of the four volumes covers the countries and cultural groups of a particular continent or geographical region, and the first volume also includes 39 topics and themes central to world folklore. Each of the more than 170 culture or country entries explores the background, belief system, oral and theatrical traditions, material culture, and contemporary concerns of a particular culture. Each concludes with an extended list of further readings."
Greek and Roman mythology has fascinated people for more than two millennia, and its influence on cultures throughout Europe, America, North Africa, the Middle East, and elsewhere attests to the universal appeal of the stories. ""Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology"" examines the best-known figures of Greek and Roman mythology together with the great works of classic literature that are the sources for our mythological understanding. This new encyclopedia presents ancient mythology from a literary perspective and features numerous illustrations from both ancient and modern works of fine art to show how myths have been transmitted in visual form through the ages. The entries include: Greek and Roman gods and heroes, such as Athena, Achilles, Apollo, Heracles, Odysseus, Orpheus, Poseidon, and Zeus; Mythological creatures, such as Cerberus, the Gorgons, the Minotaur, and Pegasus; and great works of literature that provide the sources for classical mythology, including the plays of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides; the ""Aeneid of Virgil""; the ""Iliad and the Odyssey"" of Homer; and the ""Metamorphoses"" of Ovid and much more.
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor-In-Chief); Malcolm Budd (Contribution by); Whitney Davis (Contribution by); Edward Dimendberg (Contribution by); Daniel Herwitz (Contribution by); Gregg Horowitz (Contribution by); Catherine Soussloff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BH 56 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
"Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Contributors as prominent as Arthur C. Danto and John Hollander provide analyses of the major philosophers and artists whose works have impacted Aesthetics; of theories and trends such as Conceptualism and Postcolonialism; and of concepts ranging from the abject to synthesia."
A Handbook to Literature by William Harmon; William Flint Thrall
Call Number: REF PN 41 .H355 2003
Publication Date: 2002-07-10
The "definitive," contemporary reference on literature and literary criticism in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology. Covers a wide range of terms, most centered in literature, but extending into other areas, such as film, radio, TV, printing, linguistics and literary theory, music, graphic arts, classical studies, and computing and information science terms. For anyone interested in literature and literary criticism.
A Companion to the American Short Story traces the development of this versatile literary genre over the past 200 years. Sets the short story in context, paying attention to the interaction of cultural forces and aesthetic principles Contributes to the ongoing redefinition of the American canon, with close attention to the achievements of women writers as well as such important genres as the ghost story and detective fiction Embraces diverse traditions including African-American, Jewish-American, Latino, Native-American, and regional short story writing Includes a section focused on specific authors and texts, from Edgar Allen Poe to John Updike
This outstanding practical guide to writing analytical essays on literature develops interpretive skills through focused exercises and modeled examples. The program is tailored to meet the specific needs of beginning undergraduates. Features unique, detailed guidance on paragraph structure Includes sample essays throughout to model each stage of the essay-writing process Focused exercises develop the techniques outlined in each chapter Dedicated checklists enable quick, accurate assessment by teachers and students Enhanced glossary with advice on usage added to core definitions
"Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies..."
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.