The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
by John W. Collins (Editor); Nancy Patricia O'Brien (Editor); John W. Collins
Call Number: LB 15 .G68 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-30
"An extensive bibliography provides useful sources for further research. This reference work will be valuable for professionals in the K-12 setting, students of education, and educators and researchers in colleges of education."
A Dictionary of Education
by Susan Wallace
Call Number: REF LB 15 .D483 2008
Publication Date: 2009-01-08
" UK-focused Dictionary of Education. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning. It also includes major legislation, key figures and organizations, and curriculum and assessment terminology."
"Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods."
"3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances."
"Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. "
The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education in the United States is a two-volume work intended to be a comprehensive, first-stop reference work. It is tightly focused on the unique history, polemics, and the various forms bilingual education has taken in U.S. schools. It was written for use by non-specialists who wish to explore, in a comprehensive non-technical way, the intricacies of this subject from various angles: history, policy, classroom practice, designs and research bases. Readers may access information about the links between bilingual education and related subjects: linguistics, education equity issues, socio-cultural diversity, and the nature of demographic change in the United States.
Encyclopedia of American Education
by Harlow G. Unger
Call Number: REF LB 17 .U54 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
"The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, ""Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition"" includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present."consultants for this encyclopedia."
Encyclopedia of Education Economics and Finance
by Dominic J. Brewer (Editor); Lawrence O. Picus (Editor)
Call Number: REF LB 2824 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-17
"Economics can be a lens for understanding the behaviour of schools, districts, states, and nations in meeting education needs of their populaces, as well as for understanding the individual decisions made by administrators, teachers, and students. Insights from economics help decision makers at the state level understand how to raise and distribute funds for public schools in an equitable manner for both schools and taxpayers."
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
by Fenwick W. English (Editor)
Call Number: REF LB 2805 .E527 2006
Publication Date: 2006-02-16
"The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught on PGCE courses and practiced in schools and colleges today."
This collection brings together many of the leading sociologists of education to explore and address key issues and concerns within the discipline...draws upon theory and research to provide new accounts of contemporary educational processes, global trends, and changing and enduring forms of social conflict and social inequality. "
" Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders."
Education in the Arab World
by Serra Kirdar (Editor); Colin Brock (Contribution by)
Call Number: LA 1491 .E374 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-29
Education in the Arab World is a critical reference guide to development of education in Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. The chapters, written by local experts, provide an overview of the education system in each country, as well as discussion of educational reforms and socio-economic and political issues. Including a comparative introduction to the issues facing education in the region as a whole, this book is an essential reference for researchers, scholars, international agencies and policy-makers.